Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is my first ever Buttermilk pie. It is so good and very easy to make. I am sure going to make this agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Not for me but CM likes a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My daughter request this pie all the time! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Worthington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was my first buttermilk pie. I used a frozen crust from the supermarket. Kept all ingredients the same. I did dd some cinnamon into the mix and also sprinkled some on top during baking. I baked it at the temperature and time stated on the recipe. Overall, it's a delicious pie. Tasted even better the next day. When I make it next time, I may bake the pie shell a bit before pouring in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My family loved this one, however, I only gave this 4 stars because I used less sugar (I think 2 cups would have been overwhelmingly sweet) and I used butter instead of margarine. Also, as an experiment, I made two pies; one with only 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons of sugar (just in case 1 cup wasn't enough since I was cutting way back from 2 cups) using the baking temperatures given in the recipe; and the next day, I made the other using only 1 cup of sugar and baking at 350 degrees for 1 hour as one reviewer recommended. The winner: the "1 cup, 350 degree for 1 hour pie" hands down was the best because it really tasted like vanilla custard. Also, it wasn't as dark on the top so being less carmelized (than the first pie), that cut down on the sweetness as well. Next time, I may even bake it for an extra 3 to 5 minutes since there was a very thin layer on the bottom that was gelled but like pudding...but so good though! In contrast to my first pie with the extra 2 tablespoons of sugar simply tasted sweet. It was good but I see that the extra sugar didn't allow the vanilla flavor to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I cut the amount sugar in half and it was wonderful. Two slices at a time is the only way to eat this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Delicious! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I used twice a much vanilla because I love the flavor. The sugar carmelized and gave the pie a slight caramel flavor that I absolutely loved. I wouldn't make this pie with anything but whole buttermilk. Will gladly make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars but only because of the amount of sugar this recipe requires. I don't like "sugary-sweet" so I cut down the amount of sugar in this pie to 1 cup and next time I make this, I may cut it down to a little more than 3/4 cup. Overall the recipe is very good, especially served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this pie today and it was delicious! I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as suggested and I am glag I did because it definitely would have been too sweet. I used a stick of butter instead of margerine and I reduced the temp to 350 for the first 15 the 325 for 1 hr. It wasn't runny at all, it firmed up nicely. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by positiveenergee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made this pie for the first time today and it is GREAT! Very easy to follow directions and not to sweet just right. I did add coconut for texture, but didn't change anything else. This is going to be a well used recipe. Thank you so much Carla for sharing this,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States