Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
If you want a great buttermilk pie, by golly this is it! I made a Father's Day spread and had buttermilk left over from other recipes that I made. My father loves buttermilk pie, and last minute (who knows why), I thought I would look up a recipe and throw it together. Well, it was a rare good last minute idea and it was completely devoured. I got one small piece, there were no leftovers. In fact, my father told everyone that since it was father's day, that the pie should belong solely to him. He only got one piece too. Poor guy! But no worries b/c I still have some buttermilk left and as easy as this was, I will be surprising him with his very own tonight! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was perfect. I love any and all things sweet, so I probably would have loved it w/2 cups. But I didn't want to make it too sweet for my guest. 5 stars for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We really liked this pie. I did use what I had on hand. Butter in place of margarine and I made my buttermilk. I also reduced the sugar by a 1/2 cup. Try it, you might be pleasantly surprised. Will make again and think it would be a good pie for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made this for 5 of us and no one really liked it. It was really sweet and didn't have a lot of flavor. A few people said it tasted like flan or Pecan Pie without the pecans. We all agreed it would taste better with something tart like lemon in the batter or unsweetened raspberries or strawberries on top. The top also burned which I noticed 5 minutes before the timer went off. Luckily, the burned layer peeled right off. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Last year for Christmas, my fiancee had asked me to make him a buttermilk pie (being from Illinois, I'd never heard of them or had one). We tried a recipe from this site last year, but have since misplaced it. He thought it was this one, but after making it last night, we now know it is not. This is a decent recipe, but it is very very sweet! Next time, we'll reduce the sugar in this recipe. Additionally, if you want your pie to have the crunchy caramel layer on top, cook it closer to the top of your oven; if you want more of a fluffy quiche-like pie, cook it on the bottom of your oven (we cooked two and this is how it happened). If you're worried about it being too runny, let your pie sit in the fridge overnight and it will congeal and not be like pudding. Another thing that we had a problem with was that this pie had butter sitting between the filling and the bottom crust. So we'll either reduce the butter or add a little more flour to help with that. Overall, a decent pie, but very sweet; adjust sugar to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My family doesn't like pie crust, so for the first time ever, I made a pie without a crust using this recipe. I read the reviews for tips, so I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, then added coconut flakes and chocolate chips, as well as sprinkled cinnamon on top. Took an additional 10 minutes in my oven, but came out perfect! The taste and texture were divine. I grew up in Illinois and often had this for big family get-togethers. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My family had never heard of this, but I made it exactly as the recipe describes and it came out great. Only thing I did different was just a little sprinkle of cinnamon on the top. My Dad ate all of the leftovers. I used a ready made pie crust and put it in the plate uncooked and then added the batter and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I had no problems with the pie over flowing or cooking time. The only problem I had was the sugar wouldn't cream for me...I have no idea why this happened. The end product was very sweet but good. I used sugar free cool whip on it and that toned down the sugar a little. Also; this pie tasted better, the longer it sat. My son will love this pie because it tastes like pecan pie without the nuts and that right up his alley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
It was AWESOME! I followed others recommendations and one put 1 1/4c sugar. Also, I had to cover loosely with foil to keep from burning and removed it the last 15 minuets. I didn't know where to place it in the oven so I chose the center rack. I doubled the recipe and it worked wonderfully! Thank you for this recipe my Mom has made it for years and I lost the recipe, but this is so close maybe better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
First time making a buttermilk pie and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turtle
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This pie was good, but as many people have said, it was extremely sweet. I had already cut the sugar by about a 1/3 of a cup, but next time I would definitely use 1.5 cups. Also, I baked this in a stoneware that I have only used a few times before, and by the time the top was finished, the bottom was still slightly underdone, so if you're using stoneware I would suggest leaving it in for a bit longer. Still a really tasty pie, and I will definitely make it again with the altered sugar measurement. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States