Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I uppped the flour in this recipe from 3 Tbls to a little more than one cup. I did this because I had made the buttermilk IV recipe and it was way too custardy and runny. I was trying to find a recipe that was more of a spongy kind of pie, from a recipe that I loved at a Utah restaurant. Anyway, upping the flour turned this cake into a recipe of its own, so maybe I will post it seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Wow! This is like creme brulee pie! I followed directions exactly except I used a deep dish pie crust and increased cooking time to 70 min. Make sure you wrap the crust edge with foil so it doesn't burn. After you take the first piece soak up syrup in pan with a paper towel and there should be no more seeping. I found this to be spectacular after being refrigerated for a few hours. The best pie I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This pie is deeelish! I've made some minor adjustments. I only used 1 cup of sugar and used 5 tablespoons of butter. I also didn't use a pie crust and it turns out beautiful. I added some whipped cream and blackberries. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This pie is really good! I made several during the Holiday season and they really went over well! I have never made one of these before, so I don't know if this is normal, but after you cut a piece of pie, a clear liquid drains into the empty spot eventually. So I started putting a piece of a paper towel there to absorb it. The pie is delicious. Use a deep dish crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I cooked this for an hour and a half and it was so runny inside, when i tried to take a piece out it was like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I had leftover buttermilk from an Irish soda bread for St. Patrick's Day and searched for buttermilk recipes. TGhis was my first introducation to buttermilk pie. Great recipe. I also made my first successfull pie crust and the filling fit perfectly. I followed the temp and cooking time and it was golden brown with a thin, sweet and crisp top to the pie. I did use lowfat buttermilk so I dissolved 1 tsp. of cornstarch in the buttermilk before adding it. I really want to try it with egg beaters and margarine but I'm sure it won't be the same. My husband LOVES LOVES LOVES this recipe just as it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
First of all, this recipe is silly easy to make. I had been trying to make a buttermilk pie on and off for literally six years. I would follow the recipe strictly, but the pie would always come out too runny, no matter how long I cooked it. Finally, one of the reviewers on here pointed out that they accidentally misread the ingredients, and the pie came out great. Then another reviewer wrote that she deliberately altered the recipe in one key way to make it less runny. What I did was follow the recipe included except for three things: I used 3 tablespoons of flour instead of 3 teaspoons; I used 1.25 cups of sugar instead of 1.5 cups, and I also added maybe 0.75 tablespoons of cornstarch to the buttermilk I had, since it was 1% fat buttermilk, and I wasn't sure whether all buttermilk was supposed to be that low fat (this was also suggested by one reviewer). I ended up baking the dish for around 60 minutes or so, and the center came out perfectly no runniness at all, even after cutting out one of the pieces. Good pie, and it takes about 15 minutes to put together, especially when you use a store bought pre made crust like I did. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Dee-licious. I made this pie for a dinner party, with 1 cup of white and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. My friends had never eated buttermilk pie before and were astounded by its amazingness. Thanks, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Absolutly the BEST buttermilk pie! I was a bad girl! :-) I didn't tell my children what was in the pie. THEY LOVED IT! Now at my house it is called Custard Pie. They will NEVER know. :-))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The most helpful review of this pie shows them altering it to add a cup of flour?! This is ridiculous. The buttermilk pie was runny because they didn't incorporate the ingredients properly. This pie has a lot of liquid, so you have to be careful. Buttermilk pie looks easy, but that's because the ingredients are so simple. It takes technique to combine. Start with room temp. ingredients, and make it easy on yourself and do the first 3 ingredients first and blend well. I melted my butter instead of softening it and it came together much better. When adding the eggs, do one at a time and make sure its incorporated well before adding the next. Then the buttermilk and vanilla. Overall, not a bad recipe for buttermilk pie on this site. It is one of the best out of the 5 others I've made and reviewed on this AR. The baking time should be tweaked, as with all custard pies you can partially blind bake the pie shell, or bake it on the lowest rack for 400 for 10-15 min to set the crust and then lower to the posted temp. until it's set. This easily prevents soggy bottom crust. Buttermilk pie is done when it doesn't jiggle. Don't overbake the pie. It's not supposed to be dark brown on top. Who likes dark brown scrambled eggs? Ew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States