Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was the first buttermilk pie I've ever made - and it tasted great! I did cook it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe suggested, and there was still a small pool of clear syrup in the pie plate after I'd taken a slice. I'm not sure if there's a way to prevent that. All in all, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
very good pie! I made this last evening and we ate half a pie. Very rich maybe too sweet but still very good. I bake mine a little longer as I saw previous raters mention. I baked it for 1 hour and ten minutes. Once it sits after baking it dries up a little more making a perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Used 2% buttermilk and cinnamon instead of nutmeg, but it was delicious. I did have to cook slightly longer, but that could have been my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Deliciously sweet. It came out just a bit runny so I recommend another 15 minutes of baking or so. The slightly crusty top adds to the flavor...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I cooked this for an hour and a half and it was so runny inside, when i tried to take a piece out it was like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
So great! I have eaten buttermilk pie my whole life, and this one is as close to my aunt't as I have ever had! I used a regular 9-in. crust (not deep dish) and used up all the batter...so maybe all those other people were using 8-in? Well, it's REALLY good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was by far the best buttermilk pie recipe I have ever tried. It was delicious. Everyone loved it...my friend took it to his boss's house for a Thanksgiving party and it was a huge hit. Only change is that I recommend using deep dish pie crust like some other users had recommended. It was soooo good. I doubled it and made 2 pies and they are gone after less than 24 hours. Am making another one tonight for my Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Delicious. Very sweet pie, but really good. I'd never made a buttermilk pie and wasn't sure how it would turn out. The kids really liked it and it was amazingly easy and quick to make. Definately shake the nutmeg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I followed the recipe to the letter, but wound up with 1/3 a cup of the liquid left over after I filled the pie to overflowing (deep dish shell too!) It was good, very sweet, but funny looking as the nutmeg kind of darkened as it baked, cracked and split so islands of it floated away on the butter. I had to get the turkey baster out to suck up all the butter oozing out the top from the middle. We ate it hot, and it reminded me of eating pure honey from a spoon with the sweet taste lingering in the back of my throat. I might make it again because it was very easy to make, but I don't think i'd make it for company because the looks, and texture leave a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was great!! The pie did not even last long enough for it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States