Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Delicious!! took the pie crust recipe from the "all-american apple pie" recipe you can find at this site (that crust is scrumptious.... and extremely easy!!) Added an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract and reduced the amount of sugar to 1cup, even after that i thought it was too sweet, even for my sweet tooth. Also cut back on butter, what's more, i had to use margarine because i run out of butter but it still came out good. I even had to make my own buttermilk since here in Spain it's impossible to buy it (mixed 1 tablespoon lemon juice and 1 cup milk together, plus 1/2 teaspoon corntarch...). Thanks for the recipe, sure i'll be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Wow! How refreshing!! I followed this recipe to the letter 2 times & was perfect... however, I made it yesterday & found I had only 1/4 cup butter so I added 1/4 cup Philadelphia cream cheese and That was terrific also! Go figure. USE DEEP DISH pie plate..A must..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This pie is deeelish! I've made some minor adjustments. I only used 1 cup of sugar and used 5 tablespoons of butter. I also didn't use a pie crust and it turns out beautiful. I added some whipped cream and blackberries. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I had leftover buttermilk from an Irish soda bread for St. Patrick's Day and searched for buttermilk recipes. TGhis was my first introducation to buttermilk pie. Great recipe. I also made my first successfull pie crust and the filling fit perfectly. I followed the temp and cooking time and it was golden brown with a thin, sweet and crisp top to the pie. I did use lowfat buttermilk so I dissolved 1 tsp. of cornstarch in the buttermilk before adding it. I really want to try it with egg beaters and margarine but I'm sure it won't be the same. My husband LOVES LOVES LOVES this recipe just as it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I uppped the flour in this recipe from 3 Tbls to a little more than one cup. I did this because I had made the buttermilk IV recipe and it was way too custardy and runny. I was trying to find a recipe that was more of a spongy kind of pie, from a recipe that I loved at a Utah restaurant. Anyway, upping the flour turned this cake into a recipe of its own, so maybe I will post it seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is my families favorite. It doesn't stay around long. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I liked this pie alright, though I did think it was really sweet and not as smooth and creamy as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
this is a wonderful recipe!! I love these pies - delicious thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Wow! This is like creme brulee pie! I followed directions exactly except I used a deep dish pie crust and increased cooking time to 70 min. Make sure you wrap the crust edge with foil so it doesn't burn. After you take the first piece soak up syrup in pan with a paper towel and there should be no more seeping. I found this to be spectacular after being refrigerated for a few hours. The best pie I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I made this for my mom on mother's day and she really liked it. I cooked it a wee bit longer than 60 minutes. Mine didn't darken alot, possibly due to the small sprinkling of nutmeg. I may use a tad bit less butter, but I loved the buttery, sweet, slightly tangy flavor. I will definately be making this alot. Its soooooo easy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Purnell-Berberich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States