Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
It tastes pretty good. I used a store bought pie crust mix. It did seem a bit too sweet to me, but if you like really sweet then don't change it. As for the flour amount, some reviews said it was supposed to be 3 tablespoons instead of teaspoons, others said it was perfect the way it was, so I just doubled it. After 60 minutes of baking, the center was still very runny, so I baked it another 10 minutes or so, and in the end it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I am wondering if the amount of flour in this recipe is an error? Most of the other recipes for buttermilk pie on here call for 3 TBSP of flour. Perhaps that is why one reviewer's pie turned out soupy? Anyways . . . I made this exactly as written EXCEPT I put in 3 TBSP flour. (instead of 3 tsp). It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I didn't really care for it. I remember living in the TN. and granny making buttermilk pie all the time. Maybe that's my problem is. I compare good O'l home recipes with a twist of something that granny left out on purpose. Thanks, it was worth a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
awesome pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was my first attempt at making a buttermilk pie, and it actually turned out well; the only problem is that it tasted exactly like a regular egg custard pie. So while it was still good, I was a little disappointed; I was looking for something a little richer, with a little more flavor.The only change I made was reducing the sugar slightly, to just over one cup, after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
a little soupy, much better served cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a wonderful buttermilk pie recipe, almost identical to the one my family has baked for years. The only difference is the recipe (which I can't find!!!) that my family uses, cooks about 90 minutes, but for the last 30 or so minutes the temperature is reduced (maybe even turned off). I'm happy with this recipe though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Had leftover buttermilk from another dish I made. So I decided to give this a try, I'm so glad I did it's great. Husband and kids devoured it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great tasting pie. But, I put too much flour in (9 tbs) because of what other reviewers had said, and it was a bit fluffy towards the top. Being Australian, and not having tried any when we traveled through the South, I don't know what Buttermilk Pie is supposed to taste like or what its texture is supposed to look like. So, I can't say whether this is supposed to be a true buttermilk pie. Regardless, I loved it and will try again, but this time using 3 tbs and using a deeper dish (as I had way too much custard).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States