Buttermilk Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
THIS IS A WONDERFUL PIE !! I AM ASKED FOR IT ALL THE TIME AS A SPECIAL DEASERT. LITTLE DO THEY KNOW IT IS SO EASY AND VERY AFFORDABLE TO MAKE. IT DOES HOWEVER NEED ABOUT 45-60 MIN TO SET THE WAY I SERVE IT WITH A LITTLE GOLD ON THE TOP!! SEREVED COLD OR SLIGHTLY WARM WITH A CUP OF COFFEE A PERFECT TREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. the measurements are all wrong. the cooking time is all wrong. don't try this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, this being the first yr my Mother passed the spatula to me, lol. It baked up so pretty that I took it to my parents, and after "sampling", the whole pie was gone! I baked a second, to make sure it was not a fluke, and ended up hiding it in my bedroom so no one else could eat it!!! This pie is fabulous!!! I added the zest from one orange to the batter, and that just took it over the top!! You gotta try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I was searching for a recipe to use the buttermilk I had left over from another recipe. This turned out pretty good. I took it to Thanksgiving Dinner and everyone questioned the name, but loved it after they tried it. First bite is questionable, but it goes quick after that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I was looking for a recipe like this to use up 2 cups of buttermilk. I wanted a simple recipe without too much butter and no need for a mixer. This pie is delicious. Hubby & son (both very picky) enjoyed it. I used a 9" frozen deep dish pie crust, and had just a little extra filling left, so I baked it separately in a small ramekin, and it was delicious, too. I also added an extra egg since I had only lowfat buttermilk, and it set up perfectly. Next time I would take it out of the oven when there is a small center of custard that still "jiggles", as it will firm up while cooling. I am also planning to try it with lemon peel and juice, and once with coconut. The flavor of the custard is wonderful. We preferred it after it had chilled it in the fridge. My first buttermilk pie experience, and I will make it regularly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Delicious ! Even better the day after. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bourges, Centre, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
It's full-flavored but not too sweet! Better than *a certain famous chef's* recipe was! Very easy and quick to make, I can't say enough or eat enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
very easy, quick and good result: difficult to say what's really in it. also a good way to use up buttermilk or else: I tried also with a peach yogurth container, and it came out pretty well indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I prefer my pie to set more firmly than this one but after adding 1 more egg it was fine for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Very easy to make---great way to use up buttermilk, I did sprinkle some cinnamon on top before baking--turned out wonderful---going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States