Buttermilk Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Good, did have to bake longer than 40 minutes. Also used 4 eggs as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This pie has a more "tart" flavor profile than other buttermilk pies I've tried. The one thing I didn't like about it was the texture. It seemed too porous or "airy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I didn't think it had much of a flavor. Not too crazy about the texture either. It needed to cook about 15 minutes longer than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I could not find my grandmothers buttermilk pie recipe, so I decided to use this one since it seemed to be very similar. I was wrong. Tasted nothing like buttermilk pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I might have done something wrong I don't know but this pie tasted like sweet scrambled eggs. It needed some other kind of flavor also besides the vanilla, maybe somekind of citrus fruit rind or juice. I also had to bake it for like 1 hr 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Not bad, just not what I expected. A little too soft, but not smooth for my liking - I guess what others call eggy(?). The reviews made me try it instead of my regular one. It will be eaten - mostly by me - but I won't try to do anything with it. It does have that funny separation mine didn't. Unclearly defined layers, but they're there. I made two & added a couple tablespoons cocoa to the second one. Layers are more apparent in it. Other recipe they were both good - chocolate & au naturale :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very Good, I followed the recipe with the only modification was that I had to cook it longer, about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This recipe was perfect. SOOO easy! we loved it! what more could you ask. simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
WOW! I have never eaten ot made a buttermilk pie in my life and thank god i found this recipe cause it was fantastic! i made it into a graham crust instead of a regular pie crust and i added cinnamon and sugar on the top before baking and i have to say its the best pie i have ever made! It is melt in your mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Had a slighty tangy taste . I prefer custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States