Buttermilk Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is the best pie crust I've ever had! It always results in a delicious, flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
this is an excellent recipe that results in a flaky, flavorful crust that is tender, but firm enough to hold together well. i used this for my boston banana cream pie and it was a perfect complement to the flavor profile. i made only two modifications; i omitted the vegetable oil and i reduced the buttermilk to only 1/4 cup. this is my new standard pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My now favorite pie crust recipe! Very easy and oh so flakey. I made an elderberry pie.Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETSY
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Made this for a pot pie crust! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Used it for a pot pie crust. Followed the recipe exactly. Very good! Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammy.carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
AMAZING pie crust, this is my new favorite recipe! used it this Christmas to try something new and will most definitely be using it again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This made the best crust ever!! I tested a few different crust recipes for Thanksgiving & this one won hands down. It is my new crust for everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSiek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Loved this crust. Made it in my Kitchen Aid Mixer and it turned out fabulous. Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Amazing! Never did I think I could bake a crust as flaky and delicious as one you would get in a restaurant. I used the crust for a pot pie recipe. I had some left over and made an apple dessert with the rest of the crust. It all turned out so delicious. You will never use another crust recipe after trying this one. Also, I did this all in my food processor. So EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moazhome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I don't think this is the best pie crust but it's a good one. The oil makes it a little sticky to roll out. I will eliminate this next time. Also will cut back on the amount of buttermilk. If it's not holding together quite enough a little ice water is all you need. My husband will be the judge tonight. He usually only likes my recipe. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States