Buttermilk Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Works really well. Pulsed everything in a food processor until a dough ball formed. Used only butter. Chill dough 30 minutes before handling for easier rolling between sheets of wax paper or parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Even though we cut down the amount of buttermilk per a number of other reviews, we found this dough to be much too wet, and difficult to work with. We pressed on and actually baked a pie, but found the crust crumbly and not at all flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
First of all, I make a great pie crust and used to sell pies in my catering business. I was looking for buttermilk recipes and saw this recipe and thought "what a weird recipe" and decided to try it for fun. Even using less buttermilk it was still pretty wet. Instead of rolling it and putting it in the freezer as directed, First I mixed it and put it in the freezer for about 15 minutes and then rolled it. It was then not over wet and easy to handle - also thoroughly chilled. Well, it came out so great - really flaky and tender. I also rolled it between plastic wrap and a little flour, which is cheaper than buying parchment paper (also easier). It is really a great recipe and thanks for sharing it. I will make it my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I'll admit, when I was rolling out the dough I thought to myself, "I am not making this again". It was very sticky and ripped easily. I used it anyway for the crust for my veggie pot pies only because I didn't want to waste anything or start over. Boy was I surprised with the taste though! This crust is delicious and perfect for pot pies- yes it was a bit difficult to manage but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I use this crust once a week. It's so simple, and delicious! The shortening makes it flaky, the butter is for flavour, and the oil is to keep it soft and light v Personally, I recommend keeping the oil. I've made this crust without the oil, and it was still good but was harder and less moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made this exactly as written, and it was delicious! It complemented my strawberry pie very well. My previous favorite crust used all shortening - I like the combo of shortening and butter in this one. I followed the submitter's instructions for prebaking, and they were perfect. I was a little worried that I should have used pie weights, but the crust was fine and didn't shrink. Thanks for the submission - this might become my new favorite crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I didn't care for this! I followed this recipe exactly and it was the gloppiest, worst mess I've ever made! The crust was terrible. Will never make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stit60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Made to the exact recipe and was wonderful. Light and flakey. Goes well with any pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States