Buttermilk Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe makes some of the best pancakes I've ever had, and I worked in a diner for several years that was known for breakfast. The only thing I've changed is the author's recommendation to leave the mixing until just before cooking. If you let the batter sit for about 10-15 minutes before cooking, that baking soda really goes to work and the batter starts to expand. This makes for super pillowy pancakes. It's like eating buttery clouds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious! I had some leftover buttermilk so I decided to try these. They came out very light and fluffy - no changes! I've tried other recipes in the past but none that I ever wanted to make again. This recipe is one of the best pancake recipes I've ever tasted. My picky son even loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very good recipe! Followed recipe exact. Pancakes were light and fluffy. I thought they would need extra time to cook because of how thick they get, but no different then any other. Serving wise, made 18 good size pancakes with plenty left over to freeze. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Pretty good but I may have liked the fluffy pancakes also found on this site better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Pretty good! These took longer in the pan to heat up than I expected-- the first batch I made were a little gooey from uncooked batter. I added frozen blueberries for extra sweetness which worked out! I wanted to make buttermilk pancakes especially because I had extra from the cake I made last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Everyone loved this recipe. My husband (53yo) gave the highest compliment (which he doesn't give easily), that these were the best pancakes he's ever had. I don't think I've ever heard him say this about anything. I will say that I used White Lily self-rising flour and omitted the baking powder and salt. If you're in the south and it is available to you, White Lily makes a huge difference with baked goods. Not sure how it is, but there really is a difference. America's Test Kitchens seems to think so, too, which convinced me. Oh, and you must use buttermilk. Regular milk will make it too watery. If you don't have buttermilk, make a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've made these several times now and everyone says they taste just like grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was okay. The recipe was very watery, I had to add 3 cups of extra flour!! Won't make again. This made enough pancakes to last all weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My boyfriend and I both really liked the flavour of these pancakes. I don't even really like pancakes that much but thought they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe. I used all buttermilk instead of the 1/2 cup of milk and added 3 teaspoons of cinnamon. Instead of making pancakes I used a brownie/mini loaf mold to make pancake bites for my kids. I also made breakfast turkey sausage to sprinkle in between the batter as I put it in the mold. I baked @ 425*F for 10-12 mins. Came out great. Turkey sausage recipe: 1 pound ground turkey; 3 teaspoons brown sugar; 1 1/2 teaspoon salt; 1 teaspoon ground black pepper; 1 teaspoon ground sage; 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander seeds; 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,054) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States