Buttermilk Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I added vanilla, salt and replaced the oil with butter to give flavor. It did stick to the pan a little bit, but I was still able to turn the pancake. I could still taste the baking soda a little bit. They did not come out fluffy. The blender made it easy, but I think I find another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Disappointing. Not like a pancake at all more like a crepe. I hoped with the amount of baking powder that they would be really light and fluffy but they were flat, no rise to them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
These are light and fluffly. Very good. I bit too sweet for us. I will decrease sugar next time and add a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
The batter as instructed was very thick, so the first two pancakes were globs. After adding more regular milk it was possible to pour the batter into round pancakes. I agree they burned easily, but the texture was light and fluffy and it soaked up a lot of maple syrup--yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My family loves these. I only change the amount of sugar I add. My husband thinks they are too sweet with what the recipe calls for. So I add a tad less then what recipe asks for. I also love how we can change the amount of servings cause some mornings there's only five of us and other mornings there's eight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal DeHart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
this pancakes are extremelly fluffy. I also added a pinch of salt for balance. It is definitely a keeper. Oh by the way, I was able to make 7 medium sized pancakes with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made this exactly as instructed and came out perfectly! One of the best homemade pancake recipes! I had to cook them on a lower setting than I usually use for pancakes in order not to burn; it didn't affect the cook time. Next time I will half the sugar, add 1/2 tsp salt and add a little cornmeal, letting it sit 30+mins before cooking. I am trying to duplicate the AMAZING room service buttermilk pancakes I had at Cosmopolitan in Las Vegas when I got married. Sentimental and this recipe is a good start. Moist, yet light and fluffy....Cosmo's were all of that but heavy and filling all the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made the recipe as is. I make a lot of pancakes for my kids and try lots of different recipes. This was average. I also had a hard time getting them to cook through consistently which is a problem I've never had. My kids ate them, but I'll go back to other recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHOADIE
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Light, fluffy, cakey! Yum! I too decreased sugar to 3T and brown, 1 t vanilla..2T melted butter instead of vegetable oil..made my own syrup and topped with bananas! So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Just made these pancakes but used gluton-free all purpose flour for regular flour. My husband said they were the best pancakes he has tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States