Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These muffins are really great and oaty! I didn't put any oil and threw in a grated apple for moisture. I also used only 1/4 cup brown sugar since I don't like muffins too sweet. I put in some vanilla, ginger, and cinnamon as well. Turned out fantastic even with the changes! They puffed up really well, are moist, oaty, and taste great! This is a great staple oatmeal muffin recipe! UPDATE: I've made these quite a few more times now, with grated pear or apple. I think the vanilla really makes them great so I'd recommend making them with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Occasionally the best recipes I come across are when I'm trying to use up stuff in the fridge - this was one of those happy times. It's a simple muffin, not bogged down with a million different add-ins and spices, although it's conducive to that if you're so inclined. So except for adding a teaspoon of vanilla I left it alone. Wonderfully moist because of the buttermilk and oil, with a subtle brown sugar oatmeal flavor. I thought about adding chocolate chips, then dried mixed berries and finally added a couple of handfuls of blueberries when I remembered I had them in the fridge to use too. Pretty and not too sweet, these are just delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I love these muffins. When I increase the ingredients to make 12 instead of 8, I use one whole egg + one egg yolk. Also, I substitute melted butter for the oil and I add a generous amount of freshly grated nutmeg. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Thank you! I have been searching for years for a recipe that replicates the Quaker Oatmeal Muffin Mix. This is it! It made 8 muffins and I baked for 20 minutes. I added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon. Light and fluffy...not dense at all like many other oatmeal muffins I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Yum! Really moist! I used melted butter instead of oil, added 1 apple, shredded, and cinamon/nutmeg, 1 tsp/ 1/2tsp respectively. And 1/4 cup of bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Bland is the kindest adjective I can say of the taste; I added both vanilla and cinnamon but neither was able to salvage these muffins. I have had boxed mixes with more flavor. I wish I could say how great they were but the only thing I ended up doing was wasting my time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOJAGRAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This has become my all-time favorite muffin recipe! I got it from my dad, and was going to add it, but it's already here. I always double the recipe, and I add 1 T. of vanilla (1/2 to the regular recipe). We've also added rasins for those who like a bit more texture. It's one of my favorite breakfasts - a co-worker said they were so good, he was licking the crumbs out of the cupcake cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
My mom actually has been making these muffins for years with the exact same recipe. It is one of my favorite foods ever! I highly recommend these muffins for a special (or everyday) breakfast, or just to have around for snacking! mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
We had them straight out of the oven this morning for breakfast, but I can see how they could be served with dinner as well. The sweetness is subtle, and although they're lovely just as they are, the cinnamon and nutmeg that others suggested would also complement it nicely. Very, very easy to make and a versatile recipe. Thanks for this one. Also enjoyed the intro--makes me wonder what else was served for that special dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My first review of a recipe. Had to say how wonderful these muffins are. They are easy to make, and almost melt in your mouth. I got 11 out of the recipe. A bit smaller, but that's OK with me. Thanks for a good breakfast treat. Would like to know the nutritional facts, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States