Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I changed it up a bit to suite my tastes. I was really craving chocolate at the time! So I added 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, and 1/2 cup of dark chocolate baking chips. I also subbed out the brown sugar for honey and the flour for whole wheat flour. Healthy and delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Appie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I love that these are low-fat, tender from the buttermilk, and rich in fiber! I read the other reviews and prepped for expected blandness by adding cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, and chocolate chips. They were great! I made 2 batches of these for a potluck, and they were gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Bland is the kindest adjective I can say of the taste; I added both vanilla and cinnamon but neither was able to salvage these muffins. I have had boxed mixes with more flavor. I wish I could say how great they were but the only thing I ended up doing was wasting my time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOJAGRAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made these muffins exactly as written. I made them to go with chili instead of cornbread, and for that I thought they were quite good (toasted with a little butter). As a snack or breakfast muffin though, they are too bland for my taste. They were a nice texture and easy to make, so I do think I will try them again with some additions like fruit, cinnamon, or vanilla as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a wonderful basic muffin recipe. The leavening is the perfect amount and results in beautiful domes every time. The texture is moist but not overly so, almost like a heavy cake but without the sweetness. It lends itself very well to variation, although I rarely add more than vanilla and cinnamon (the equivalent of 1/2 tsp each per single batch). I never make less than a double batch, which gives me 1.5 dozen full size muffins and 1 dozen mini muffins. The minis take roughly half the time to bake as the big guys. Fabulous for breakfast or any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The kids love them. I added some cinnamon and vanilla per the reviews. Next time, I will leave them out. Three stars because the kids love them way more than my husband and I. I substituted oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made these twice..1 st as is...and they were great...but even better we thought next time w/1 1/2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 t nutmeg and about a cup or so of chopped apple...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great recipe. I've been looking for a buttermilk oatmeal muffin recipe for quite some time. I made 3 differnet batches of these muffins. I added pumpkin pie spice to all but in batch had pieces of apple, raisins in the 2nd, and chocolate chips in the 3rd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I expected to like these more than I did. These are just basic-not-too-sweet-dense-oatmeal muffins (nothing wrong with that) but there isn't anything really standout-ish about them. The simple addition of cinnamon or toasted pecans would really take these from so-so to so tempting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Muffins rose to lovely heights. Delicious! Freeze nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States