Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These are so bland!!! And I even added vanilla and lemon zest. I wouldn't give up on it yet though, because the texture and moist-ness is great --- just add a bunch of extras (i.e. blueberries, vannilla, lemon, cinnamon, etc.!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These are nice and moist and I do like them, but I also agree with the reviewer who found them a bit bland, even with the additions -- I think it's because they are more like a dinner roll, for buttering or dipping in soup, than a breakfast muffin. I made them with regular--not quick cooking--oats, which turned out fine. I added the vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg suggested by other reviewers. The nutmeg was a bit much -- if I make these again I will stick with just the vanilla and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The recipe as it is makes muffins with a lovely texture, and it is also quite easy. The taste, however, is a bit bland. I would be sure to add spices, dried fruit, jam, nuts, or some other good. Good basis, but only a perfect finished recipe gets five stars from me! My changes: I added vanilla, cinnamon, clove, ginger, nutmeg, and walnuts. I also used some grated apple, but that was just to cut down on fat. The oil ratio is absolutely fine here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made these with less sugar and whole wheat flour instead of white. I agree that they could use a little more flavor...I forgot to add vanilla, cinnamon or nutmeg as suggested. But, they are also good as-is or with blueberries or chocolate chips inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I liked the texture and will make these again. I felt like they needed something, though. It's an easy recipe to alter, so I plan on playing around with it a little. Thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetotravel
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I followed this as a base recipe to use ingredients that I had on hand. I used canola oil, a combination of bread and whole wheat flour, blueberries-and-cream instant oatmeal mixed with old fashioned and added cinnamon and frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delish!! I am unable to follow a recipe exactly, so here are the changes I made: I added 1 t vanilla to the buttermilk/oat mixture, subbed 1/4 c oat bran for 1/4 cup of the flour, used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white flour and cut the salt to 1/4 t. I also added 1/3 c each dried cherries and sliced almonds, but I will probably experiment with other fruit & nut combinations. It comes out fantastic! So light and fluffy, even with my "healthifying" substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These were amazing! So moist and delicious. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used Greek-style yogurt (full-fat), so maybe that's why they were so rich. My only complaint is that they came close to burning at the edges and I had to turn the oven way down. I'll cook them at 375 next time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are a great muffin. I can use up extra sour milk or buttermilk when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
2.19.12A good & healthy muffin - especially when you soak the oats for an hour (or more to plump them up); sub whole wheat flour & melted margarine; add a teaspoon vanilla & 3/4-1c blueberries. It's the same recipe except increase baking powder to 1 1/2t. I used 3/4c white sugar (since it was my first time) & it was good & not too sweet. I think the whole wheat flour might "need" a little more sugar, but I'll try less & brown next time. Did mine at 350 for 30. BOTH kids (11 & 13) like 'em! WOW. :D April2012: Dbl recipe Used 2coats; 2c buttermilk; 2t vanilla;; 2eggs; 1c white sugar; 1/4c melted butter; 1/4c olive oil; 1c white, 1c whole wheat flour; 1T bp; 1t bsoda, 1t salt' 1/2t cinnamon. 'Made 12 as listed. Added 1c blueberries to remaining 12. W berries, sweet enough. W/o, not. Really needs fruit to sweetenit up. More cinnamon either way.1/13 Double recipe using 1c brown sugar, melted 1/2c SmartBalance, 2c blueberries, 1t cinnamon. Made 24 muffs, baked at 375 (using frozen berries) for 20. (375 for 20 works, too) Healthy tasting, but not so much that you don't want to eat them. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States