Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I make these for my boys to eat for breakfast before work. They're very versatile and can be modified any way you want. I've made these muffins with raisins, reduced the oil by half and added two mashed bananas and once even mixed in Skor toffee bits. (THAT was good!) I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 vanilla as was suggested. Super recipe... will be used again and again! Great with my pear jam too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Yummy! Really moist, good for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitzieX6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
These are moist, flavorful and delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe. However, the submitter must have HUGE muffin tins. I doubled the recipe and made 24 mini-muffins and 23 regular sized muffins. That's great because we can't stop eating them. My hubby polished off ten of the mini-muffins in about 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Amazing muffins!!! I used 2% milk instead of buttermilk and applesauce in place of the oil... made a batch of plain ones, one with blueberries and one with milk chocolate chips... they were all delicious!!! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very good but VERY easy to overcook, and very bland and dry when overcooked. I reduced the bake time and the oven temp for my second batch and they came out far better. You want to take these out of the oven before anything starts to turn visibly golden on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Very moist & tasty. Very good recipe to work of off. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 or 1/3 & omitted the oil altogether. I also added some vanilla, shredded apple & carrot, cinnamon & ginger, also some ground flax seeds & replaced some of the white flour with wheat. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is a great basic oatmeal muffin. Since it was a pretty small recipe I went ahead and made them as the recipe states (with the exception of one added tsp of vanilla) so that I could see what the plain version tasted like before trying different variations. They have a very mild, not too sweet oat flavor with a light, slightly chewy texture. These would be great with just about anything added in but I think I'll try banana nut and apple cinnamon versions first. However, I think the plain goes well with jelly or jam. I tried mine with Candy Apple Jelly from this site and it was delicious! I will definitely be playing around with this recipe. Thanks Robert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
These muffins are wonderful. Moist and tasty. The second time, I added bananas and nutmeg and cinnamon. Well worth the extra calories due to the buttermilk. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing. Kamal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I've made these according to the instructions and they are great (although better with chocolate chips). I have also made a healthier version of them using 1/3 cup applesauce and cutting the oil to 1 Tbsp, sugar to 1/3 cup, and substituting 2/3 cup whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup unbleached white flour and adding some wheat germ and oat bran. Add in some blueberries and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States