Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I loved this recipe with a few changes... thanks everyone for your comments, they really helped! I added a little more cinnamon, a little ginger (about 1/2 a tsp) a dash of nutmeg, and about 2 tsp vanilla. I topped these with a mix of brown sugar and sweetened coconut and they were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very tasty and nutritious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ágnes Dira
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have added one diced apple, 1/2 cup coconut flakes and vanilla extract and it turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ágnes Dira

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Added a half-teaspoon of almond extract and 1T of honey. Next time I may try it with a little maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
My muffins came out great. I made the following changes, coconut oil instead of butter and I added a mashed banana and chia seeds for fiber and omega. I am not a big cinnamon fan so I left that out and I added almond extract as one reviewer suggested. The muffins came out sooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love this recipe. On its own, it is perfectly sweet, and it is basic enough for thousands of variations. I am thinking of making a savoury version with ham and cheese next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
About the best muffin recipe I've ever come across! I used coconut oil instead of butter and topped each muffin with one of coconut flakes, chocolate chips or cranberries before baking. For making 18 muffins I substituted 1.5C all-purpose flour with 3/4C whole wheat flour+1/4C ground flaxseed+1/2C all-purpose flour just to make it a tad bit healthier. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
These were good. Not to sweet, just like a muffin should be. I followed the recipe as written, with the exception of adding a maple syrup drizzle over the muffins. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
very good. Added half cup blueberies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I love it when I make a muffin recipe and it's a muffin, not a cupcake. Just as any drink served in a martini glass seems to be called a martini nowadays, it also seems any cake recipe baked in a cupcake liner and left unfrosted is called a muffin. Not. The mixing method is different, the flour to fat ratio is different, and a muffin has very little sugar (as opposed to cakes, where the flour and sugar ratio is nearly equal). This is a muffin, and I appreciated that. I added two cups of chopped rhubarb, not because this basic muffin needed it, but because I'm looking for excuses to use it. I also sprinkled them with some demerera (turbinado) sugar just to dress them up. These are moist, rather "bland," as true muffins are supposed to be (do we think of biscuits as bland?), the taste of the oatmeal apparent. Just the right level of sweetness - remember, this is a muffin, not cake! When I mixed up the batter I did use a heaping cup of sugar but only to adjust for the tartness of the rhubarb. While these would be delicious spread with a little butter, honey or jam, they were quite satisfying just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States