Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I'm Naples' daughter and it's about time I tried my mom's recipe! Maybe I'm a little biased but this was excellent, just as I knew it would be, having grown up with the benefit of all her awesome cooking and baking! Nice and moist, fruity and flavorful, with a delicious crumb topping that's just a little different than most. I'm not as experienced as Mom is, of course, but her recipe is easy to follow and turns out a great finished product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Truely a perfect medley of ingredients. I added the optional nutmeg but other than that I didn't double guess the recipe as I sometimes do based on reviews, and was rewarded with a perfectly moist, heavenly cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
It was sooo good didn't have buttermilk used sour cream with a little half&half doubled recipe 2cups blueberries 2cup fresh mangoes will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was average. I did not like the combination of mango and rasberries in it. If I made it again I would leave it out or use blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was great! I used buttermilk powder & water instead of buttermilk and subbed gluten-free flour blend. I have been looking for a good crumb cake recipe and I think this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I just want to say the crumb topping makes ALOT, so next time (as I used a round cake pan for lack of a square one) I will layer the topping and batter. The only changes was to use half butter and half unsweetened applesauce, reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, milk + lemon juice for the buttermilk and strawberries instead of the raspberries. Made it for my son's birthday and the three of us enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious crumb cake! I was eyeing up this recipe for a while and since I had some buttermilk on hand that I wanted to use up it was time to give it a try. I didn't add any of the fruit as I wanted a classic crumb cake and boy did I find one! Just as the submitter states, it's just as delicous without the fruit. The crumb topping is wonderful and next time I'll double it, because it was so good. The cake itself was moist, slightly sweet, and nicely spiced. I topped it with a nice dose of powdered sugar and it was perfect with a cup of tea or coffee. I can't wait to try this again with a variety of fruits such as apple or blueberry and maybe throw in some nuts like walnuts or pecans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I've never made crumb cake before, but this will be one of my staple recipes! Easy to make, delicious, and I love the inventiveness of combining mango and raspberry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States