Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe may require less fruit. I baked this a little longer to "fully" cook; the cake was gummy and the topping was not crumb like. Baking is something I love to do but this just doesn't cut it as is. My mango's may have been too juicy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Absolutely perfect in every way. I used fresh blackberries and a small handful of fresh raspberries and baked in a 9" springform and everyone loves it. The texture, sweetness level, amount of fruit and topping, ... everything is exactly what I have been looking for and finally found it. Can't wait to make it with other fruits. Made a conf sugar and lemon juice glaze to drizzle, for those who wanted it. This cake is amazing with or without it. I know this one will be requested often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Here was the challenge...could a novice baker (such as me) make this cake with results as good as his wife’s (the submitter, Naples34102)? I admit I did need a moderate amount of supervision and guidance. I didn’t know, for instance, to mix the crumble topping with a fork! And there were a couple of other missteps as well; the mango wasn’t ripe enough and I mistakenly brought heavy cream home from the store, not buttermilk. But not a problem because Naples always has frozen berries on hand (I used raspberries and blueberries) and she introduced me to buttermilk powder. I found her recipe directions easy to follow (for a novice like myself) and the cake a breeze to mix up. I’m not generally a fan of coffeecakes or muffins, but I sure do like this one. I’ll be bringing it into the office and I can’t wait to hear my staff’s reaction when I tell them this time this was my contribution, not my wife’s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I used frozen mango taste great and nice and moist. This is a cake I will make on a regular basis. Next try will be with strawberry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Dube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe!!! I'm allergic to milk so I used rice dream and it still came out amazing!!! The only change I would make is put in less mango
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I'm Naples' daughter and it's about time I tried my mom's recipe! Maybe I'm a little biased but this was excellent, just as I knew it would be, having grown up with the benefit of all her awesome cooking and baking! Nice and moist, fruity and flavorful, with a delicious crumb topping that's just a little different than most. I'm not as experienced as Mom is, of course, but her recipe is easy to follow and turns out a great finished product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Truely a perfect medley of ingredients. I added the optional nutmeg but other than that I didn't double guess the recipe as I sometimes do based on reviews, and was rewarded with a perfectly moist, heavenly cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
It was sooo good didn't have buttermilk used sour cream with a little half&half doubled recipe 2cups blueberries 2cup fresh mangoes will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was average. I did not like the combination of mango and rasberries in it. If I made it again I would leave it out or use blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States