Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was a great basic recipe for coffeecake. We loved the consistancy and topping, but we found teh cake a bit bland. Next time I will add a little more vanilla extract (maybe even some almond extract) and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. For the fruit, I used a blend of berries, but I found that raspberries tasted best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I gave this recipe five hearty stars. I LOVED it. I had a few small changes just based on what I had in the house. I didn't use any berries because I didn't have any, but I'll bet they would have been awesome in the cake. I also used pumpkin pie spice in place of the nutmeg because that's what I had. I wanted to say thanks for adding the note to cream the butter and sugar until it was noticeably lighter. I've been baking for a long time and have never read that, and I think it made a huge difference in making a very fluffy cake. This recipe in fact made a very, very light, fluffy cake. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I've had my eye on this for awhile, and finally got around to making it tonight since I had some raspberries to use up. What a lovely cake! Nice and moist, and the sweetness was just right to stand on its own or accommodate the added sweetness of a glaze (which I added, and it was YUM). I'm not a huge fan of the mango in the cake (and it might have been more helpful to specify an exact measurement of mango to use instead of just "one mango," since fruits can differ in size); everyone else loved it, so I think it's just a preference thing. I have some blueberries in the fridge, and am having to fight the urge to make a Buttermilk Blueberry Crumb Cake. :) Beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I used fresh cherries and blueberries and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
It was okay for me but the family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a delicious cake. I think I cooked it a little too long, so it was a liitle dry, but that was not the fault of the recipe. I will definitely make this again, and look for a not completely clean toothpick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Yum! I see why the submitter says you can leave out the fruit or sub other kinds of fruit--the cake is really good, but I have to say that if you have raspberries and mango, go for it bc the combo in this is awesome. The tartness of the raspberries keeps this from being too sweet, and the mango adds a counterweight to the raspberries. With the mild, yet flavorful cake it's wonderful. I misunderstood the directions for the topping (don't ask me why bc I've made thousands of these things so I must've been losing my mind) and and thought it was supposed to be wet like wet sand so I melted the butter. No, not correct at all--the recipe clearly says softened butter NOT melted butter. Sigh. But for all of that, it still tastes wonderful, just the crumble is missing in mine. I bet it would be even better than wonderful for people who can actually follow recipes to the letter (I really can't apparently!). Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very moist and well balanced flavors. Easy to make and measurements precise. Had a fresh mango and lots of raspberries on hand. also used low-fat buttermilk since I had that on hand as well. Make sure you blend well, batter will be thick. crumb topping yummy and overall smells wonderful. delish and a keeper. thank you naples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I wanted to use up some frozen raspberries and this was a perfect way to do so. I enjoyed the crunch of the topping, and the crumb was dense, but not too heavy. I did think it was just a little too sweet (thus the 4 star) but the others that ate it didn't seem to. Thank you Naples34102, for a very nice cake recipe, that I will make again and try with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've been looking for a great crumb topping and this is the one. I love the description of "wet sand" it really lets me know what I'm looking for. Cake is great, have done all types of fruit and is also great plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States