Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
It was okay for me but the family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a delicious cake. I think I cooked it a little too long, so it was a liitle dry, but that was not the fault of the recipe. I will definitely make this again, and look for a not completely clean toothpick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Yum! I see why the submitter says you can leave out the fruit or sub other kinds of fruit--the cake is really good, but I have to say that if you have raspberries and mango, go for it bc the combo in this is awesome. The tartness of the raspberries keeps this from being too sweet, and the mango adds a counterweight to the raspberries. With the mild, yet flavorful cake it's wonderful. I misunderstood the directions for the topping (don't ask me why bc I've made thousands of these things so I must've been losing my mind) and and thought it was supposed to be wet like wet sand so I melted the butter. No, not correct at all--the recipe clearly says softened butter NOT melted butter. Sigh. But for all of that, it still tastes wonderful, just the crumble is missing in mine. I bet it would be even better than wonderful for people who can actually follow recipes to the letter (I really can't apparently!). Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very moist and well balanced flavors. Easy to make and measurements precise. Had a fresh mango and lots of raspberries on hand. also used low-fat buttermilk since I had that on hand as well. Make sure you blend well, batter will be thick. crumb topping yummy and overall smells wonderful. delish and a keeper. thank you naples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I wanted to use up some frozen raspberries and this was a perfect way to do so. I enjoyed the crunch of the topping, and the crumb was dense, but not too heavy. I did think it was just a little too sweet (thus the 4 star) but the others that ate it didn't seem to. Thank you Naples34102, for a very nice cake recipe, that I will make again and try with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've been looking for a great crumb topping and this is the one. I love the description of "wet sand" it really lets me know what I'm looking for. Cake is great, have done all types of fruit and is also great plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this recently for Mothers Day, it was a huge hit!! Everyone loved it and it was delicious! Will definitely make again and try experimenting with different types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent recipe, I used no calorie sugar and fat free buttermilk, this might be a lower fat- lower calorie option for the cake and it still tastes excellent. I only used mangos and it turned put great, I really recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
very dry and the healthy fruit is cancelled my the fatty additives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaner4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was a big hit. I used some leftover frozen peaches and blueberries which was a nice flavor combination, and I look forward to making this again with raspberries. A big square of this is impressive and looks like the expensive coffee cake at a coffee shop. Because I bake at high altitude, I reduced the butter to 6.5 T. and the sugar to 7/8 c. in the batter, and it worked perfectly with a rich, buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States