Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
There were so many coffee cakes to choose from but I knew if I was making naples34102's recipe it would be a good choice. Sure enough, this recipe lives up to all its great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly. I don't usually bake with buttermilk but I now have no doubt it's what makes the taste and texture of this cake so superior. I did use raspberries and mango but I can see where any number of options would be just as delicious, so definitely use what you like or have available. The crumb topping is delicious too! With or without fruit, this will now be my go-to coffee cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was a good basic coffee cake/muffin. Great for an beginner baker. I still had some mangos left over from a dinner party. My friends thought it was a four star recipe. The texture of the Cake was light and fluffy with a bold mango flavor. Great with any variations. I did a strawberry and blueberry crumb cake cupcake filled with mango curd and topped with strawberry whipped cream. To make the whip cream whip 1cup heavy whippingcream for about five minutes, and one tsp pure vanilla extract and add four tablespoons of fresh strawberry purée that's been reduced over medium heat. Add a little powdered sugar at a time, until sweet enough to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Used 3 fresh peaches instead of mango/raspberries. I only had an 8x8 pan, so my baking time was increased. This is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Oh Yum! Thank you naples for an excellent recipe! I took a chance on an unknown recipe and made two of them. I served them at a family birthday brunch and they were loved by all. Even the two youngest grandchildren that are usually into frosting and sprinkles skipped the birthday cake and went for yours after a small taste. The directions were exact and well written. I saw no reason to deviate from them or the ingredients. The cake was moist and delicious and the crumb topping was the best I've ever had. The combination of mango and raspberry was excellent although I can't wait to experiment a little, perhaps all raspberry. Regardless how I make it, this recipe will be a welcome addition to the master cookbook. Readers you must try this one, you won't be sorry. Ignore the negative reviews about this being, bland, tastless and just plain ugly. So, not true! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I liked this, but it was quite 'wet' inside, although very done. My mango was a bit dry, so I sprinkled it with a tsp. of sugar to make the juices come out - maybe that is what made the cake so wet? Note that it wasn't easy to evenly distribute the crumb topping, but it spread all over during baking, so don't worry about 'blobbing' it on. 1/2 tsp. nutmeg seemed like a lot (that spice is strong!), but I added it anyway, and was glad I did! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I wish I could say I loved this but it was just wrong for me in so many ways. I found out I hate baked mango- the taste texture and color were all unappetizing. As others have mentioned the cake around the fruit was gummy as well. I also did not care for the grit of raspberry seeds in the cake. The cake was fairly bland and too fluffy- every piece served fell to the side. I prefer a coffee cake with more "body" to it. And lastly- I really missed the traditional buttery streusel. This was tasteless and the dry sand texture was not what I want in a crumb cake. I would try it with different fruit, some more vanilla or rum extract and a traditional crumb topping but then I guess it would be a whole different recipe. No one cared for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This wasn't very flavorful and wasn't too fluffy. Kids and hubby found it bland. Always read the positive AND negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
this is sooo good and easy to make! thanks soooo much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this with fresh blackberries and mango. The cake was crumbly and well, there's just no other way to say this, but ugly. I waited for the cake to cool knowing that many baked goods present a more appetizing appearance once they've had a chance to set, this was not the case with this cake. They say tasting is believing, but frankly, aside from the tasty bits of fresh fruit, the cake itself was overly sweet and kinda gummy where it came in contact with the fruit. I tried the recipe a second time using a larger pan and dropping the fruit on top instead of folding it into the batter. Didn't make a difference, this still had the consistency of a quickbread instead of a cake. But then again, I've not had much success with quickie, one egg cake recipes. I think the cake could be improved with the addition of an extra egg, sprinkling a second layer of crumbs in the middle of the batter and adding the fruit to the bottom of the pan, in the manner of a pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very good!!! I used mango and strawberries but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I think I may have used a 8X8 pan by mistake and it caused me to have to lower the temp to 325 after the 50 minutes and bake an additional 15 minutes or so. The topping is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States