Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Ok so the reason I'm writing this review is because I changed some things and they worked! If anyone else was wondering... I made this in a bundt pan. I put the crumb topping on the bottom and saved some for the middle. I used 2 eggs not 1 and I used almond extract with fresh raspberries. No mango because I didn't have it. I found this recipe looking for what to do with the fresh raspberries I had and a cup of left over buttermilk. Thank you Naples! Funny but you and i have the same tastes in recipes if I see you give something a good rating I usually know it will turn out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is a moist and delicious cake! The only change I made to the recipe was substituting the nutmeg with cinnamon and the mango for more berries...I personally do not like the taste of cooked mangoes - apart from that followed the recipe exactly and turned out perfect! Have made this many times and there are never left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Naples, I just wanted you to know that I always look to see if you've left a review for any recipe I'm looking at cuz they are always spot-on! Thanks for being such a reliable "test kitchen".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENREYNEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This was just plain GROSS. Cooked mango and berries do NOT go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I am surprised I have not written a review before, I thought I had as this is my go-to recipe for crumb cake. Moist, flavorful, good with any fruit and it has a nice presentation. This has gone over well at church coffee hour and bake sales. I would give it more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Delicious! I used blueberries since I didn't have a mango nearby and fresh raspberries from my garden. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I make this every holiday! I use blackberries/ blueberries/ raspberries instead of the mango/ raspberry combo, depending on what is in season. Served with fresh whipped cream make it unstoppable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This cake tasted very much like a crumb topped muffin. It was delicious. I made it in the morning and served it to guests for breakfast/brunch and everyone loved it. I used blueberries in place of the mango and cinnamon in place of the nutmeg. I used my stand mixer and made sure to whip the butter and sugar very well. When the batter was ready to go in the pan, it was quite thick and I was concerned, but it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I wanted to use up some buttermilk and mangos that I had. I usually make mango blueberry muffins from this site but wanted to try something different. Coincidently this recipe was one of the featured photos of the day. And it being Naples' recipe made it even more appealing. (I'm a huge fan of her reviews) Let me tell you, I'm sure happy I made this. It's fabulous. I used mangos and blueberries. For those that have a problem with the mango measurements being vague (i.e. 1 mango) the average mango yields about 1 cup of fruit after it is seeded and diced. My mangos were on the small side so I diced enough to fill one cup. As I was making the crumb topping I thought oh my gosh this is a LOT of topping but I trusted that Naples knew what she was doing. And it is a crumb cake after all. The amount of topping turned out to be just perfect. I used a 9" springform pan and baked it for 10 minutes longer (reduced heat to 325 after 50 minutes). I tried a piece straight out of the oven because I couldn't wait and although it was delicious I knew it would be better a few hours after it cooled when the cake got a chance to set. And I was right. Don't know how I kept from eating the whole thing. I can't wait to eat it for breakfast tomorrow because I know it will be even better. Thank you Naples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Excellent coffee cake. I doubled the recipe and made a 9x13 and I'm so glad I did. I did cut the sugar in the cake batter to 1&1/2 cups in place of the 2 cups called for when doubled but it was still perfectly sweet. And I used a 12oz package of frozen raspberries but no mango. Had no problem with it being either dry or gummy. I baked it for 1 hour and about 5 minutes and took it out when my toothpicks came out with just a couple of crumbs clinging to them. Thank you Naples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States