Buttermilk Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Making these hush puppies right now. They are fantastic! Had to sample with the honey butter I made. Just added some fresh chives otherwise made them exactly as written. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My husband's from Louisiana, and swears that these hush puppies are the very best he's ever eaten! Followed directions to a T, and will never make another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These were absolutely delicious and moist! I added a half can of corn because we like it that way but the batter is yummy as is. Trust the teaspoon drop measure, they really do puff up in the oil!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was perfect. Thank you so much, Mama Smith, for a recipe the family will love and look forward to again and again. Only change I made was use 100% whole wheat flour in place of the all purpose. Perfect texture and taste. All of us loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I just made these hushpuppies and they are WONDERFUL! I didnt have any buttermilk on hand so I used regular milk and I made a small mistake (added baking powder then added baking soda) but these came out fluffy on the inside and crunchy on the outside!!! I love hush puppies (im from Southeast TX) and I have tried several recipes but this one is the one I am going to keep!! YUMM-O! Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Astria Falker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Awesome recipe! Just finished making them. I added leftover corn from last night's corn on the cob (3 ears worth of corn). Didn't change any of the other ingredient amounts. Exceptional recipe, very light in texture....my kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I love hush puppies and I thought these were great. I added a little cayenne pepper,extra salt and paprika. I liked this recipe because I don't keep self-rising flour on hand and I didn't want to have to think about the conversion with salt & baking soda because it was already taken care of in the recipe. Also, I used plain milk and added a little vinegar to make buttermilk. Even with the substitutions, they came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My husband and I are both from North Carolina and these are like the ones we would get in seafood restaurants. I was really craving these because we now live in Oklahoma so we don't have hushpuppies here like we do in the south. I'm glad that I came across this recipe it reminds me of home. Thank you Mama Smith for this quick and easy recipe ( these were great with honey butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was the best hushpuppy recipe I've ever tried! I added chopped jalapenos for an extra kick; next time I think I'll add some corn. They were so light and fluffy--not heavy or doughy at all. No need to keep them warm in the oven--we were eating them as soon as they came out of the fryer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Speaking as someone who loves hush puppies, but had never tried to make them until just a couple hours ago, I thought this recipe was great! The fritters turned out perfectly light and fluffy! I also thought the ratio of salt to sugar was right for the average person's taste. So, this was my take on it: I minced the onion and green onion together with a stick of celery (keep in mind I made a double batch) for a little extra homey, rich flavor and about a third of a poblano pepper. I'm not all that into spicy things, but it added a little somethin' to the recipe. I also folded in frozen corn. Last, unless you're a deep frying pro, I would suggest using an icecream scoop to release and drop the batter quickly into the oil. Using a spoon didn't work well because it just kinda dribbled in little by little, cooking unevenly and making my hush puppies look a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States