Buttermilk Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
These are the best hushpuppies we've ever had! I did cut the sugar down to 1 tablespoon. Added some corn and some heat. Wonderful!! This is a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe has a great flavor---but don't put the sugar in it. It makes the batter so easy to burn. Knowing that going in, I halved the amount of sugar--but I still ended up with burning puppies in the pan. I lowered the heat of the oil, but at that point it was too late and every batch burned or didn't cook through. I tried frying smaller sizes of batter, but at that point I was just "done" and gave up. The batter itself is nice, and were it not for the issue with the sugar, I'd give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
According to my fiancée (born and raised in Louisiana) these are the hush puppies that all others must be judged by. I use plain2% milk and vinegar instead of buttermilk. Make sure to use enough salt or they will be a tiny hi bland. I sprinkle in about a teaspoon of Don's seasoning (you can buy it online-Dons is in Scott Louisiana and i use the seasoning in almost everything! These hush puppies are addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These were really great. They were light yet flavorful with a great texture.The green onion added a really tasty punch to them. I used a deep fryer & they came out perfectly round. I am a fan of the recipe as it is and my family loved them with our dinner of spare ribs, coleslaw & potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These tasted nice and light. Not like the average hush puppy that's all dense and cakey. We liked them, but they are ONLY good the day you make them. So you might want to half the recipe if you're only feeding a few people because they made a TON. I didn't add the green onion (I didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Dave made these with cornmeal only and also omitted the onions. Fried up delicious in peanut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was perfect. Thank you so much, Mama Smith, for a recipe the family will love and look forward to again and again. Only change I made was use 100% whole wheat flour in place of the all purpose. Perfect texture and taste. All of us loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My husband and I are both from North Carolina and these are like the ones we would get in seafood restaurants. I was really craving these because we now live in Oklahoma so we don't have hushpuppies here like we do in the south. I'm glad that I came across this recipe it reminds me of home. Thank you Mama Smith for this quick and easy recipe ( these were great with honey butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I just made these hushpuppies and they are WONDERFUL! I didnt have any buttermilk on hand so I used regular milk and I made a small mistake (added baking powder then added baking soda) but these came out fluffy on the inside and crunchy on the outside!!! I love hush puppies (im from Southeast TX) and I have tried several recipes but this one is the one I am going to keep!! YUMM-O! Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Astria Falker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Flavor and texture were good. I added some ground cayenne, garlic powder, pepper, and additional salt. Next time I'll try with jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States