Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Why does this recipe have baking soda? I have never seen a yeast bread recipe with baking soda... so I completely omitted it. The bread came out wonderful. I did end up adding about 1/4 cup flour to the recipe to get the dough to the consistancy that I'm used to. I then just put it in my bread machine on the regular white setting, and the bread came out really well. I made 2 loaves in my 2 bread machines. I ran out of honey, so I used some Agave sweetener in place of the honey in one of the loaves. The bread came out just as good with the Agave as with the honey. I guess my suggestion is to add some flour and omit the unneeded baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My new favorite. My trusty, fall back, never fail bread recipe. I love trying new recipes, but this one has made it's mark. This is the one I use when company is coming, have to have bread and cannot afford to chance a new recipe not turning out. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellsinore, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The only ingredient change that I made was to use 1/2 cup of water and reduce the buttermilk to 1 cup, just so I could proof the yeast. I made this by hand, so I proofed the yeast in 1/2 cup of warm water w/ 1 T. of sugar. I didn't really have trouble with the dough being too wet to handle, however, when it came out of the oven, it was slightly doughy in the center =( I'm willing to give this one another try because it tasted great without being too sweet, but I will make 2 loaves instead of one--hopefully they'll cook all the way through! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Probably the best bread recipe I've tried so far (though I haven't tried that many). It was very good, especially when it was warm. I brushed some melted butter and honey over the tops of the loaves (I made a bunch of tiny ones instead of one big one). I also don't have a bread machine so I just kneaded it by hand, plopped the loaves onto a greased cookie sheet, and baked them at 350 for about 25 minutes. I made the mini-loaves as gifts for my friends but I'll definitely have to make some more for myself and my family very soon! This bread is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made eight large breadsticks out of this and they turned out perfectly. I'm picky about my wheat bread as I grew up on grocery store white, but this was wonderful. I could easily eat this everyday. Oh, and I had to "make" buttermilk by adding 1 1/2 T vinegar to the milk, but everything else was to the letter. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This bread is delicious! I added another 3/4 cup or so of flour (both wheat and white) because the dough was sticky. I didn't use a bread machine, and just combined all ingredients and kneaded in a stand mixer for about 10 minutes. I let it rise for a little more than 1 hour, then baked for 25 mins. It came out so moist, soft and sweet. Just be sure to add a little extra flour. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good recipe! Made 1 change. I used 2 cups wheat flour, 1 cup white flour! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
It was an okay bread. Nothing special. It is not worth five stars. A tip for others, follow the recipes EXACTLY! DO NOT ADD MORE FLOUR! I tried to do this, and ended up doubling the recipe because adding more flour made the dough too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really good bread. My daughter had it with a little butter for afternoon snack. I would say next time I will cook on the light crust setting it was a little to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Pretty tasty. My first attempt at making bread and it came out really nice. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ultraviolette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States