Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
As usual, I added my own twist but this was great bread with great consistency. I make my bread by hand so the order of ingredients I had to change. I added 1/8 cup water to mix with the yeast as my first step. I always substitute butter (real) in my bread recipes for the vegetable oil. I just added all the remaining ingredients and kneaded the bread as usual. I cooked it in two flour pots which is always a nice touch. It is also very good if herbs are added(ex. oregano, thyme, basil, parsley and fresh garlic.) I knead them in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly. However I used the wheat bread setting for my Williams Sonoma machine and baked in the machine. It is absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is the perfect wheat bread recipe I've been looking for. It's delicious, and it doesn't sit like a rock in my stomach. I was reluctant to use the bread machine my fiance gave me, but it really is a great time saver for my regular sandwich breads. This recipe is now at the top of the list; it even makes peanut butter and jelly seem gourmet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Moist,natural sweetness, even texture, and excellent flavor--a winner! However, I did have to add 1/2 cup flour to ensure doughball shape in breadmaker set to dough setting. Bread also oven-baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Followed the recipe as it was given originally. Mixed in a bread machine and baked in an oven. The dough had a nice consistency that was not to dry or to wet. It started to stick a little to the bowl so I added a teaspoon of flour while mixing. Let rise 2 hours then baked. Bread had a nice hard crust, and was very tasty. The wheat flour and honey were the dominant flavors. The recipe as given made one average sized loaf. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I tried this again and excellent. Still did dough in bread machine - punched down - let rest 10 mins in slightly oiled bowl - punched down again - shaped for a 9x5 pan and let rise for 1 hour. Misted top of dough with water and baked for 18 minutes on middle shelf, turned once. Perfect texture and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This is a FANTASTIC recipe! I I recomend adding 1/4 cup warm water to make the active dry yeast rise (the recipe donor may or may not have forgotten to add that). I added a tsp baking powder and a little extra sugar (to taste)... baked it in my oven for about 50 minutes and served hot and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Not worth while to try. The bread didn't rise evenly. I followed the recipe as it is and baked in my breadmachine and turned out very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Yummy, yummy, yummy! What a great, quick, and EASY bread. This was my 1st ever bread bake (with yeast) and it came out beautifully! Thank you for sharing this recipe! Will be a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This is a note to the person who wanted to know what size loaf this recipe makes- the loaf size is determined by the amount of flour used in the recipe. That information should be listed in your manual. To the person who complained that the loaf turned into nothing but a blob in her bread machine: you need to check the dough in your machine. You can add liquid or flour to achieve the correct consistency for your dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States