Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This bread is awesome! My husband says it's the best bread I've made so far. It has a nice taste, and is slightly moist but still holds up to being sliced. I will make this again and again. I did the whole thing in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Very good bread recipe! Sliced very nice and had very good flavor, not sweet at all. I made mine with 3 cups of whole wheat flour to make a "true" whole wheat bread. Mine didn't collaspe, I used only 1 cup of buttermilk. For my bread machine--for a 2 pound loaf you use 11/2 cups of liquid with 4 cups of flour and for a 11/2 pound loaf you use 1 cup of liquid and 3 cups of flour. Next time will try and make with 2 cups of wheat and 1 cup of bread flour to see what I come up with and than try it with 1 cup of wheat and 2 cups of bread flour and see which way my family likes the best. Good recipe to trinker with! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Yummy bread! I did mix the yeast with sugar and warm water 15 minutes before putting the ingredients into my breadmaker. And I also did the whole thing in the breadmaker - I used the Wheat Bread setting with light crust (Oster breadmaker). The bread did collapse (which my 4-year-old thought was hysterical!) but it was still absolutely delicious! One of the best breads I've had and I'll definitely make it again. Next time I'll try baking it in the oven to see the difference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have been trying many bread recipes in search of something to replace my store bought bread...this is it! I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I used bread flour. I just let my bread machine do all the work including the mixing of the ingredients. I used the basic, large loaf, and light crust settings. My husband had to have a slice of it while it was cooling on a wire rack, and I forgot to cover it that night. The next morning the bread was still as soft as when it was done baking! It makes great sandwich bread and toast, definately my favorite recipe by far! I will never buy bread from the store again, thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I was looking for a bread recipe using buttermilk and honey. I made this with my Kitchenaid, no bread machine, and had to add another cup of flour to keep it from being too sticky; so like some other reviewers, I would probably add only 1 cup buttermilk next time. This bread has a nice texture, and I think it will make great toast. I will make again but with other add-ins, such as sunflower seeds or flax seeds, and I might try molasses instead of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Awesome! I proofed the yeast in 1/2 cup water and only used 1 cup buttermilk. I also put in 2 TBL ground flax seed and 1/2 cup seven-grain cereal (to still equal the same amount of total flour in recipe). I made the dough under "dough" cycle in bread machine and then took it out and put in greased loaf pan and sprayed with olive oil and let rise in oven (warmed oven first, turned off heat then put the oven light on). Once doubled, I sliced the top of the dough lengthwise and baked for about 30 minutes at 350 (until internal temp was about 200 degrees). WOW - so fluffy and moist. LOVED this recipe. It is worth the extra effort of baking it in the oven - it didn't fall in the middle and the outside was nice and crispy. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I can't make bread. Really. My mother in law is Austrian and makes wonderful baked goods. I make stones. I was disappointed with this at first but when I let it sit for an hour, it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
a delicious, lightly sweet bread. no problems in breadmaker, rose perfectly. proofed yeast in 1/2c water as others have. suggest using real mayo for sandwiches as a spread such as miracle whip is cloyingly sweet with this bread. will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
The bread came out from the oven looking and smelling like fresh bakery bread! It has a sweet honey taste to it and my family loves it! We had it with meatloaf and I thought it was too sweet to eat with something like that...but otherwise it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Y-U-M-M-Y! This recipe came out just perfect. I mixed the bread in the machine..Turned it out and kneaded about 5 times, let it rise 40 mins(till double in size) and cooked 25 mins like the recipe stated and ohhhhhh was this good! We ate our chicken salad on it for lunch. No more store bought bread....Thanks for a sharing a great recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 101-110 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States