Buttermilk Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Delicious! Came out perfect! It is a very heavy and thick bread though. But still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Poe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Love this bread I bake all our bread. This recipe is easy and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willits, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Pretty good bread. Has a bit of a sourdough taste to it, when all is said and done. It's relatively hearty for a white bread, as well. I may try adding a bit of ww flour instead of some of the white flour next time. Freezes great as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was really good and easy to make! Thank you for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Good recipe for anyone who likes to bake bread. Only used 6 cups flour, also used buttermilk powder with water, and was fine. The baking time stated 30 min, I took it out then, but when I cut it, it was a bit gooey in the center of one loaf, so next time I will bake 35 min or so. Great taste and texture. Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I read the reviews, and I had no difficulty at all with the bread rising. I used 6 cups of flour, and the dough was very easy to work with. When I was taking the loaves out of the oven, I definitely could smell the honey, but could not taste it in the bread. Yes, there is a little bit of a tang from the buttermilk, it did bake up nicely, and the texture is OK, it's just not exactly what I was looking for today. Thanks, Kathleen, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made rolls out of this recipe and it turned out very good tasting. I thank you for making it available to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This bread is fabulous. I have made it by hand several times, and every time it comes out picture perfect. The recipe calls says 375F but doesn't give a time. If you want a dark brown crust (see the pic I've uploaded for this recipe), that was for 30 minutes at 375. This last time I took it out at 26 minutes and it was not quite as dark brown (of course). Regardless of 24-30 min baking time, the inside is sweet, tasty and just outright delicious. Made this last week for Christmas, served with butter and Crock Pot apple butter and it was flat out off the chart. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Unlike some other reviewers, my bread rose nice and tall. In fact, therefore, the resulting bread turned out to be a little softer, a little fluffier, than the denser bread I prefer. But since this was intended tp be a basic, white sandwich bread for Hubs, it was just what I needed. I feel good knowing there's a little extra nutrition in the bread because of the buttermilk, but tastebuds can't detect it. I prepared the dough in my bread machine, then proceeded with the remainder of the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I will preface this review by saying I make bread approx. 2 times a week. The flavor of this bread for a white bread was good: slightly sweet, slightly tart. The texture however is much more dense then other white bread recipes I have tried in the past. As for making the bread, the moisture to flour ratio seems off in this recipe. I added 6 cups (not 6.5) and it still seemed like too much flour. Due to a cool kitchen (70F) I added an additional hour to the first rise, and two hours to the second rise. I still felt that this wasn't enough. I think that the flour/moisture ratio in addition to my cool kitchen affected the rise. Overall the flavor wasn't bad but I prefer a bread that isn't so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States