Buttermilk Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2004
This is a great bread. I bake approx. 30 loafs of bread a week for local farmers market. And this is a favorite. I think it's a really soft, moist bread. I've been baking it for 2 years now and this is one recipe that I find unreplaceable. Thank you Kathleen for such a wonderful bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I tried making this and followed the recipe exactly but the dough refused to form-I ended up throwing it all out-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I love it! It makes wonderful sandwich bread. (It's not sweet.) I am a novice baker, and the dough has risen for me both times (i'm making it right now w/ 2c wheat flour). It's such a great recipe, I would definitely recommend trying it! If the yeast is good and the water is only slightly warmer than wrist-temp, it should work. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This bread is fabulous. I have made it by hand several times, and every time it comes out picture perfect. The recipe calls says 375F but doesn't give a time. If you want a dark brown crust (see the pic I've uploaded for this recipe), that was for 30 minutes at 375. This last time I took it out at 26 minutes and it was not quite as dark brown (of course). Regardless of 24-30 min baking time, the inside is sweet, tasty and just outright delicious. Made this last week for Christmas, served with butter and Crock Pot apple butter and it was flat out off the chart. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This is a very simple, easy-to-follow recipe. The bread is dense and not suitable for regular sandwiches, but is lovely along side saucy dishes and soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This is my favorite bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Unlike some other reviewers, my bread rose nice and tall. In fact, therefore, the resulting bread turned out to be a little softer, a little fluffier, than the denser bread I prefer. But since this was intended tp be a basic, white sandwich bread for Hubs, it was just what I needed. I feel good knowing there's a little extra nutrition in the bread because of the buttermilk, but tastebuds can't detect it. I prepared the dough in my bread machine, then proceeded with the remainder of the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
Very tasty bread, makes yummy french toast. Sometimes I add a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I made this recipe twice, following the recipe exactly both times, even checking the temperture on the warm water with a liquid thermometer. The yeast was fresh. The bread will not rise at all. I am deleting this recipe. Sounds good, probably would taste good, if it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This is a great reecipe... My loaves last barely a day here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States