Buttermilk-Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very flavorful bread. The name throws me for a loop, bc I don't think of ranch seasoning when I think of herb breads. Other than the name, though, this is a very soft, flavorful bread that's good plain, with butter, or with cheese as a nice sandwich. I baked at 375 for 35 mins instead, as I've made tons of bread and that setting is tried and true for my oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great easy recipe. I read this about a year ago and have made it many times since then. The family loves this bread and is always begging me to make it again. Sometimes I leave out the Ranch mix for a simple white bread. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cuban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great bread! Great directions! Only thing I would change is the cooking time. 20 minutes isn't nearly enough. (I left it in for 35-40.) 2nd time I made this bread I subbed the ranch packet for herbs from my spice rack. The ranch packet made the bread a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Just made a loaf of this bread and am eating it fresh out of the oven! I made this recipe as an attempt at a simple buttermilk loaf, leaving out the dressing mix. I had to add a LOT more flour than called for to get the dough where I could even handle it enough to knead, so I was worried it would come out too dense, but it gave a nice, light, fluffy loaf with a good texture. Nothing fancy but good for a simple loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a really great bread. I have to admit that we left out the ranch dressing, but the recipe itself was delicious. Moist and delicious inside, bit crusty outside. And it froze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very yummy! I ran into some problems with the flour when making it, though -- 5 cups resulted in dough with the approximate consistency of cake batter, and it took almost two more cups to get it to a consistency I was comfortable with. I would also recommend cutting the amount of ranch dressing mix in half because I think that flavor is a bit overwhelming -- good, but a little strong. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
really good, adaptable to different herbs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I really wanted to try this recipe out in my 2 lb bread machine on the dough cycle and it worked perfectly! The only change I made was to use 3 tsp of bread machine yeast and to take it out about 30 minutes before the dough cycle completed. Measurements for all the other ingredients stayed the same. I was watching it so it wouldn't over flow while rising and taking it out 30 minutes early is just right. I shaped it into one braid and one regular loaf and put them into two 9 1/2 by 5 1/2 loaf pans, let them rise 60 minutes, then baked at 350 for 30 minutes. Delicious flavor, great texture, perfect warm with some butter, also great grilled cheese and sandwich bread. Love the ranch flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I followed the directions exactly, adding some garlic. This is absolutly delicious bread, easy to make. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly - the bread was very dense and I didn't enjoy it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States