Buttermilk Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I was looking for a cornbread that was both sweet and moist. Mine was neither.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I grew up with cornbread made with Jiffy Mix - which I loved. But, I had never made cornbread from scratch before and thought I'd give it a shot. I thought that buttermilk and honey would make an interesting mix. There wasn't much taste, and although the texture seemed dry - there was an odd "oily" aftertaste to them. I think I'll find another recipe on this site or go back to the Jiffy Mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
These muffins were too dry and not sweet enough... Plus, I would drastically reduce the amount of baking soda/powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I found these muffins tasteless. Maybe if the honey were increased or sugar added in addition to the honey it would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Very bland, they looked like cornbread...but the taste just wasn't there at all. Maybe some Splenda, or another sweetener and some more salt would help, I don't know. My family did not approve, we fed the leftovers to the dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
The recipe was ok, but as already said, is a bit dry, and isn't so sweet. I recommend adding a can of corn to moisten and a bit more sugar for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
These muffins are great cut open and drizzled with honey. They went great with my fries chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
These corn muffins were pretty good. I have found that alot of recipes are bland and dry. This wasn't as dry as most, but not really moist either. The honey helped to sweeten them slightly, but I don't feel they were as sweet as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This amount of soda in the recipe overpowered the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
These muffins were indeed moist, but they certainly weren't sweet...in fact, they weren't sweet AT ALL--they were completely bland. As to the moistness, I added kernels of corn as a variation; I wonder if that was what might have helped with the moistness (others who have reviewed this recipe have also complained about the lack of moistness). The honey on its own is definitely not enough to sweeten them...I was wishing I would have added sugar as well. This was my first attempt at homemade corn muffins, and I must say, I will NOT use this recipe again. =[
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States