Buttermilk Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I did like these muffins, however they tasted more like cornbread than corn muffins becuase they did not have enough sweetness. I think that they would be really good with some jelly or honey drizzled on top to add some sweetness. I also used wheat flour instead so that it is more healthy. Overal, a keeper. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Really good cornbread...not too sweet or cake-like, great with chili. I didn't have enough honey so I used agave nectar and it tasted great. Also baked it in a 13x9 pan for about 20-25 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Not sweet, too much baking soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This recipe looks good, but it is very dry. It was not as sweet as we would of liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I doubled the amount of honey in the recipe and found the sweetness level perfect. The muffins were a bit bland still, but I still enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Great, except for the baking soda. Maybe a half teaspon would be enough. I like cornbread like this that is not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I did not care for this recipe at all! The cornbread didn't come out sweet as cornbread should be. The 1/4 cup of honey is not enough for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamarind Spice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
WOW this is very good and so easy. I substituted non-fat yogurt for buttermilk. It makes 24 mini muffins plus 6 corn cob shaped muffins - cook for 10-15 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
when making cornbread, you have to remember, its not going to be moist like regular muffins...that being said, if you substitute 1/3 to 1/2 cup of butter for the oil, it should taste better. also i use 2tbsp of sugar instead of the honey...so i think you should either up the honey or sub it with sugar (dont use splenda or any aspartame based sweetener people. you can tell the difference. dont need to be health conscience 24 hours a day)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very good, but changed the milk to skim w/ added lemon juice to "sour" it and also substituted egg beaters for the eggs.YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States