Buttermilk Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I think the problem with being too liquidy is from using cream corn. Try substituting 1/2 to 3/4 cup of milk, and using whole kernal corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I needed to add a little more baking mix to make the batter thicker and also added in a heaping tablespoon of sugar. They came out light and crispy and went great with our chili. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were GREAT! I did add in 1 teaspoon of sugar (and may add a little more next time), but that was my only change. These came out light and airy and had a great texture. Wonerful on their own, but the maple syrup puts them over the top! These were even good just dusted with powdered sugar. This is not something I would make all the time, for obvious reasons, lol, but it was a wonderful treat that I will make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
These are pretty good. They don't need sugar really if you're topping them with syrup or powdered sugar as I did. Mine didn't fall apart like the others did, they puff up but are a little gooey in the middle, I tried cooking till very brown to un-goo the centers with little avail. But I'll make them again, my kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
These were not good at all! I have previously made the "corn fritters with maple syrup" recipe from this site which uses one cup of creamed corn, and thought I'd try this recipe because it's easier (use a whole can)...but the end result is not good, especially after having tasted a really good corn fritter with the other recipe. These were way greasy, even though my oil was the right temp, and they would not stick together, making a big mess!! I made a few and threw out the rest of the batter, I couldn't even eat the few I made because they were so greasy and the texture was so off. Definetly try the other recipe first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
A bit greasy but with a paper towels I think it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I tried this recipe twice. Each time it came out awful. The batter just would not stay together once in the pan! Will not be using it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Fast and great tasting. When I make it for company, I always end upe passing out the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These were "o-k", i mean unless i made them wrong. i was really looking for a recipe that wasnt so cakey but that was gooey inside. but they still turned out alright and everyone ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
These were great! Very quick and easy to make, light and fluffy. Great straight out of the pan -- no syrup necessary in my opinion. I used my fry-daddy deep fryer to cook them and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States