Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This cornbread was so easy to make and it came out perfect. The only thing I did differently is that I added butter instead of vegetable oil and measured out less sugar because I wanted them a little more savory for the chili I was serving them with. I also made the corn bread in a muffin tin and baked it for a little less than 20 mins. They came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is the best cornbread recipe I have found. To make it even more moist I cook the cornmeal before adding it. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I added honey to the batter before putting in the pan, my family likes it sweet! It was soooo good. no leftover on this one thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Was this supposed to be liquid buttermilk? The consistenty didn't work so I had to add milk. I wasn't sure :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Definitely didn't like this -- had a strong oily taste (and my oil was new), very sweet, and an ugly brownish color from the brown sugar. The bread didn't hold it's shape very well...fell apart as I tried to get it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is my family's favorite corn bread recipe. My daughter's class requests it on party days. It is just the right consistancy and sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Was a little worried because it looked like it was going to burn, but was pleasantly surprised after it had time to cool. Very tasty- keep an eye on it while it is baking because has a definite chance of burning on the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
My husband and kids really loved this cornbread. I used melted butter instead of vegetable oil only because we like the taste better. I made this in my cast iron skillet, just melting a couple tablespoons of butter in the skillet inside the hot oven before pouring in the cornbread batter. 35 minutes and it was perfect. Very good cornbread. The butter really took it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is very good tasting corn bread. It is a little bit on the sweeter side, but not desert like. It does have more of a tan hue then a golden corn hue to it due to the brown sugar. I also had some issues with it getting very dark brown on top with some almost burning edges due to the high temp that you cook this one at. It took the full 25 minutes in my oven and my oven is new and the temp is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States