Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
My husband and kids really loved this cornbread. I used melted butter instead of vegetable oil only because we like the taste better. I made this in my cast iron skillet, just melting a couple tablespoons of butter in the skillet inside the hot oven before pouring in the cornbread batter. 35 minutes and it was perfect. Very good cornbread. The butter really took it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is a keeper. Only had stone ground cornmeal and white sugar but it still was wonderful. I have been looking for a sweet cornbread for some time. It didn't even need butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianna_jg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe but changed it a little. I used all-purpose flour and cornmeal and opted not to include the salt, baking soda and sugar. I used the brown sugar with agave nectar, regular milk(My butter milk was out of date) and 1 ripe banana. It was very good thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is very good tasting corn bread. It is a little bit on the sweeter side, but not desert like. It does have more of a tan hue then a golden corn hue to it due to the brown sugar. I also had some issues with it getting very dark brown on top with some almost burning edges due to the high temp that you cook this one at. It took the full 25 minutes in my oven and my oven is new and the temp is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Ever have one of those moments when you say, "I need to have...."? Well oddly enough corn bread was it. We are not huge corn bread people but this recipe was very good. The buttermilk was a key ingredient that based my decision to use this recipe. Will make it again when the need calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is really more of what I think of as a corn cake, instead of corn bread. Still good, just on the sweet side. I cut back on the sugar, but only had dark brown sugar and it was SWEET. Really didn't notice the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I've made this 3 different times and each time it came out PERFECT!!! Wonderful recipe! I took it to a potluck at work and everyone loved it. A coworker brought chicken corn chowder and mixing the two made it delicious. Thanks for the recipe. Definately one of my favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good recipe and very simple to make! I baked it for 30 mins and it came out golden and crispy on the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was pretty good, and really easy. I cut the sugar in half and it still tasted sweet, so I can't imagine how sweet it would be with the whole amount. Next time I would add some corn kernels and maybe some grated cheese. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
nice tender cornbread even after 5 days. It would have been gone by then if we had not left the remains of it home while out of town. I baked at 400 in an 8 x 8 pan, did watch carefully to not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States