Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
LOVE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funnygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Delicious--exactly what I was looking for. Very moist, strong corn flavor, and coarser crumb. I doubled the recipe and poured it into a 9x13 pan, baked at 400 degrees for 27 min and it was done! I reduced the brown sugar by 1/3 cup (for the doubled, so that would be 1/6 cup for the original) and it came out perfect in regards to sweetness. Used melted butter instead of vegetable oil because I love the taste of butter in my cornbread. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I only made 2 slight changes to this recipe. I omitted the 1/3 cup sugar and baked in a 12-muffin pan for 20 minutes. The muffins turned out perfectly and my family requests these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Best, most moist cornbread we ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Absolutely what I love in a Corn Bread. Great sweetness and moistness to this recipe. The only change to the recipe I made was using one (1) stick of unsalted butter melted plus 1/4 cup corn oil. Some added baking time and it did not burn. Tested with cake tester and done in approx 30 min time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very good recipe. great taste. bakes nice and moist and hold together very well. try not to over cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This recipe makes my mouth water! My family & I love it! I make it often in muffin cups, and have also made it in a 9 in. round with success. I leave out the white sugar and I use organic blue cornmeal. I love that it uses oil. I find that easier than butter. It is moist and crumbly. This is exactly the quick and delicious cornbread recipe I have been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahBcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Exceptional! I've never been a big cornbread fan, but husband loves it, so I was on a mission. I substituted melted and cooled butter for the oil, like others, used 4 tablespoons powdered buttermilk (a cook's best friend, BTW) to 1 cup water and cut back a little on the sugars (not much, about 2 tablespoons of each). Baked at 425 for 23 minutes. The top was a little browner than I expected it to be, and when I cut it, husband thought the interior was too dark. But the taste! Wow! Husband used Land o' Lakes Light Spreadable Butter, but I didn't think it needed anything. I'm glad I cut down the sugar; it was definitely sweet enough. The crust was fabulous - very tender yet crunchy, and the interior was very moist. Made a cornbread believer out of me! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I did as others suggested and used butter instead of olive oil, I also made them in muffin liners so they would be easier to eat at work for lunch. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Ok, I knew this was going to be a tough sell on me going in but I hate to say that I really didn't like it at all. I have a sweet tooth but this was just too sweet for a cornbread for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieFR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States