Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heather
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was great. Seriously easy to whip together. Mild flavor, creamy and definitely taste the buttermilk, which I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The truth be told, neither Hubs nor I are big fans of coleslaw, and generally the only time we eat it is when we go out for a Wisconsin Friday Night Fish Fry. I seldom make it either, but I know what I do and don’t like. I like a creamy coleslaw, but will leave it on my plate if it’s sweet. For me, and for those who don’t care for “sweet-savory,” this is a clean plate coleslaw. (Note: I prepared the recipe as directed, only substituting Splenda for the sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Made as written, this is a good solid recipe, just a little on the bland side. But, when you read the submitters review and add the 1 TB of lemon juice and 1 TB of hot sauce it becomes a 5 star recipe. This paired very well with 'Braised Corned Beef Brisket' 'Cream Cheese Colcannon' and 'Irresistible Irish Soda Bread' all AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
As written this is too bland for my family. We tend to like things spiced up. I added lemon juice, salt and a lot more pepper. I used just a bit of stevia for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I simply loved it. I made other coleslaw dishes, and this is my favourite. However, I served it at BBQ's and people ate it, but not as much as other dishes. Maybe coleslaw isn't a BBQ favourite? It is to me, but apparently not everyone is a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Absolutely great recipe. My family love it. I have made this recipe for family gatherings & friends, and I receive lots of complements. Now I was asked to make it for my sisters graduation party, & I plan to kick it up a notch with pineapple tidbits & a little bit of pineapple juice mixed in with the ingredients. I know it will come out great. I love how this recipe is creamy. This recipe is similar to this steak restaurant we go to that serves great tasting coleslaw with pineapple. Now everyone wants to know the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I've made this recipe at home to accompany seafood and for picnics to accompany BBQ. Each time it has been a success. If you are making for a family of 5 or less, you will need to halve the recipe. For a picnic, I use 1.5 times the recipe. Other than that, it is fine as is. I make no alterations, whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as shown. The final flavor was a bit muddled. What was missing was acid. Added 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, about 1/2 cup more sugar, a pinch of cayenne pepper (yes! do this!) and five drops of Tabasco brand red pepper sauce. Mix well into the slaw, allow to mellow several hours or overnight. I also added a small can of crushed pineapple, drained. Diced apples could be added, too. This made fantastic coleslaw worthy of your time! Super yummy, not cloyingly sweet, the cayenne and Tabasco give you a nice very subtle "brightness" to the flavor, not heat. Very Southern and delicious! I used "Duke's" mayonnaise and enjoyed the extra richness it seems to give recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Great tangy flavor with the buttermilk. I used Splenda instead of sugar and added golden raisins and diced apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States