Buttermilk Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
These are awesome. My husband hates coconut and nuts. I'm going to make him try them anyway, I'm willing to bet he'll love them anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was delicious. So simple to make. A good use for that leftover buttermilk. I made it for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. My only critique would be the name. To me it's a cake, with a crust, not a bar. Which makes no difference. A great recipe though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdhenin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Recipe worked great. Nice flavors and good textures. Only flaw is that there is too much sugar. It is overly sweet and you could definitely use less sugar overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
We really liked these bars and thought they were best a day old or more. The only thing I did differently was add twice the coconut as it seemed a small amount for the size of pan. Upon eating my last piece I thought that they would make a good carrot cake type dessert by simply adding some shredded carrots to the final layer. I can't say that would improve the dessert but it would be adding to the nutritive value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was really good. It does not need any icing at all. I did add a little extra coconut but it would be yummy just as the recipe indicates as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The texture was just not right, and the taste just didnt bring out the coconut. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Skipped the icing and added a little more coconut and vanilla. This was phenomenal. My whole famly loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Different but good. I more than doubled the amount of coconut based on previous reviews....including additional coconut in the crust as well as adding coconut to the filling. I also added a layer of chocolate chips based on suggestions. The crust turned out perfect with a cinnamon-flavored filling. Not what was expected but pleasantly surprised with the end result. The only reason I made this was to use up some buttermilk. I don't bake often so the chances aren't good I'll make it again, but I have no regrets about making it this one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Super easy to Make... Super easy to Eat... Super easy to be the Talk of the Dessert Table! I also included chocolate chips . A real Keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I thought the crust was a bit hard/crunchy but the ladies in the club LOVED it! I added a bit more coconut as I love coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States