Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by nelida22
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
ok, i've made this twice now and I was pretty impressed the first time I made these buns but the 2nd time was even better!!!! I can't express how much I love this recipe. I make 8 huge cinnamon buns with this recipe and personally I think the only way you can screw this up is if your yeast is bad. I used almost 4 1/2 cups of flour but it depends on the humidity where you live. What I do is use 4 cups for sure and adjust from there, making sure the dough is soft, not sticky. The 2nd time I used a butter milk substitute (1 1/2 tablespoons of white vinegar in the 1 1/2 cups of milk) and I cut the baking soda to a 1/4 teaspoon as someone else suggested to omit it all together to avoid a biscuit texture, worked for me. I also left it to rise for 30 mins 1st rising give or take a few mins and for the 30 mins as the recipe called for the 2nd rising (makes for a softer bun). My family and I thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nelida22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Positively perfect cinnamon rolls! Look and taste better than what you get in the mall. Secret is to use a breadmaker on dough cycle to get perfectly risen dough- no need to add more flour- used recipe exactly just put all liquid ingredients in first (warmed the buttermilk before putting it in.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Coma inducing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
These came out great!! This recipe is everything I've been searching for. They're SO delicious, came out light and fluffy, don't require hours to rise, and didn't need eggs. What more could I ask for. OH - I did make 2 tiny changes though. I added 1 tablespoon of sugar to the yeast and water mixture at the beginning (to help the yeast proof), and I added more cinnamon to the sugar/butter filling. These changes are minor and should not have a huge effect on the recipe itself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This buttermilk cinnamon roll recipie is relatively simple. I'm not sure why so many people added so much more flour! I followed the recipie exactly, adding 4 1/2 cups of flour (stirring in one cup at a time), and it turned out perfect, slightly sticky, but that was fine! I added more cinnamon like mentioned in another review. These are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Prepared the Buttermilk Cinnamon rolls last night. Took them out of the refrigerator about an hour before I baked them. I followed the directions exactly. I did add a cream cheese frosting. I can't imagine how bland they would of been without it. The texture is biscuit like. I should of read more of the former reviews. I will not bake these again as cinnamon rolls but with some changes I think it might make a great dinner roll? Use butter, herbs & some cheeses with a nice garlic butter glaze. If you want a light melt in your mouth cinnamon roll, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakota1200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was my first time trying cinnamon rolls. So, other than doubling the cinnamon, I followed recipe exactly.. topped with powder sugar glaze. They were really good. The dough itself was great and easy to work with, as for it needing extra flour, I put it on a bit more than lightly floured counter and let the kneading get it to the right amount. The best trick I read in reviews was to slice them with thread, it made it so much easier without smashing them :D But next time, I think I will partially melt the brown sugar with the butter, to spread easier, and be a bit less rich. Thank you for posting it, I will definitely make this again... next week :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My family really enjoyed these ooey and gooey rolls. They were simple and easy to make. I made 2 batches and saved a batch in the refridgerater for the next morning. I did have a problem with the refridgerated batch not rising like the same day batch, but they still tasted good!These will definetly be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These were delicious! I did find that 4-1/2 cups of flour didn't seem like enough. I did use an additional 1/2 cup or so, but I didn't want to spoil the recipe so I worked with it. It was a little difficult to roll up, but the end result brought raving reviews by my husband & co-workers. I followed an apple cider cinnamon roll recipe for the filling. (Taste of Home Fall Baking pg 111). All in all, the recipe will be making it into my next recipe book :) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome! This is definitely a five star recipe, but I made personal changes to make it a 10 star for us! I added 1/4 cup of sugar and a tablespoon of cinnamon to the dough from another reviewers suggestion. I cook at lot but am not an experienced baker - I was nervous to make them but they were SO EASY! The one mistake I made was I melted the butter (it was in a stick in the fridge) and than mixed together the brown sugar and cinnamon with it, then spread it over the dough I had rolled out (about a 10x14 rectangle). So when I went to roll it up...it squeezed the mixter out to the end of the roll and made a huge mess (my fault!). I ended up having to scoop up the mixture that squeezed out and spooned it over the top. Next time I will take the instructions from another cinnamon roll recipe on here and use a pastry brush to brush on the butter, then just sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon over it. the idea to cut it with a string - genius! I put it in two round cake pans, covered in fridge over night. Took them out the next morning and let them sit for about an hour and then baked at 375 for 20 minutes. Great New Years day breakfast! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States