Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
WONDERFUL!!! These cinnamon rolls were very quick and easy, the only changes I had to make were to add more flour (about a cup and a half or two cups) to keep it from being so sticky, and I added some cinnamon to the dough and about 1/4 cup sugar because I noticed the recipe didn't call for any. Also sugar helps the yeast proof faster. Since we love cinnamon, I put more into the brown sugar mix than the recipe called for. Also, I put them in the refrigerator overnight and they rose some, but not as much as I wanted so I let them rise in a warm place (the closet) for an hour before I baked them. The baking time was only 14 minutes for mine, and the cinnamon rolls were so perfect and golden and ENORMOUS! This recipe made 18 enormous cinnamon rolls. Seeing as it's only my mom and I, I'm going to give some to neighbors and friends. I topped them with homemade cream cheese frosting, but I don't think they needed it because they were already so moist and soft and wonderful. I don't think they were cakey or biscuity at all. As good as Cinnabon, just a lot cheaper! And if you crowd the pan a bit, the middles of the cinnamon rolls will come up just like Cinnabons. A couple tips: Warm the buttermilk over the lowest heat setting or it will start to curdle. Also, once you have your cinnamon roll log, stretch it out a bit if you need to to make it all the same thickness. And to cut them, get a piece of thread and put it around as much roll as you want to cut off, then pull the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
If I could give this 10 stars, I would. It is by far the best and easiest cinnamon bun recipe out there. I follow the dough recipe to the T, then vary the fillings. Mini chocolate chips with toasted pecans and a butter/cinnamon/brown sugar mix was a huge hit at the inn I was pastry chef for; had people driving all the way from Maine to get them. Orange zest and walnuts with a raw sugar/butter filling is divine with a light orange zest infused sugar icing glaze at the end. Make them at night, refrigerate overnight and bake in the morning for something that tastes like you spent hours and hours on it. Oh, and a note. If you warm the buttermilk too much, it curdles, but doesn't wreck it. Just stir with a wisk and dump it into the mixer. No worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
I followed this recipe exactly and well it came out horrible ! you need at least 8 cups of flour, I kept adding and the dough was so sticky. Then I couldn’t even cut in to it with out it still being so sticky, I bake a lot so I do know what I am doing . Don’t waste your time on this recipe, or money. Finally I just stuck the big log on a cookie sheet and baked it, looks terrible. I promise you if you do this recipe you’ll be very up set ! just terrible ! I always read the reviews and well it seem like it was going to be great, if so many people loved this recipe why did mine come out so horrible !!!!!!!! and a complete waste of time !!!! we looked at it and after this thing cooled off we tossed it in the trash :- (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
These cinnamon rolls are delicious. They were very easy to make. I let my bread machine do the mixing and kneading. I had to add an extra 1/4-1/2 cup of flour, and I added about 1/2 teaspoon of extra cinnamon (I love cinnamon). I also added raisins, and lightly frosted them with cream cheese frosting. WOW!!!!! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
These cinnamon rolls are easy to make with my dough hook in my Kitchenaid Mixer - they are light and fluffy. I make them into sticky buns by coating the bottom of the pan with molasses/pancake syrup/brown sugar - mixture of anything you would like. Turn them out immediately upon removing from the oven and they are heavenly. We have had raves about them. Thanks for sharing this easy, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Friends of mine wanted me to write this review. They usually browse the gourmet cooking sites, but needed and easy recipe. They knew I always use All Recipe.Com. They decided on this one and their whole family loved them. They said it was very easy and they turned out GREAT! They would highly recommend this recipe to everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This recipe is easy and comes out great every time. I doubled it for Christmas morning breakfast and it was perfect. I add a glaze/frosting. The best part is, you can make them the night before and just stick them in the oven and 30 minutes later you have nice hot homemade cinnamon buns. Don't be scared by the long list of ingredients, it goes together perfectly and quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
We tried the recipe twice. The rolls tasted more like biscuits with a hint of cinnamon. The next day we added more cinnamon but they turned out kind of the same. We ended up just adding in extra sugar and cinnamon and turned the recipe into cokkies. I think I am going to stick with the Betty Crocker Cinnamon Roll Recipe. Right on, to anyone that gets these rolls to come out right. Send me a few so that I can try them! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
Juicy, flavorful, and big! Be sure to let them rise really well. Any cinnamon roll lover will enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Holy frijoles.....this makes a BIG cinnamon roll. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to work with this recipe. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and an additional quarter cup of sugar (personal choice, as I wanted a sweeter dough) for ten minutes, then added the buttermilk and a half cup of melted butter in place of the vegetable oil while alternating with the dry ingredients. I did not need much more than a couple extra tablespoons of flour. When I made the filling, I upped the cinnamon to two and a half teaspoons of cinnamon and a teaspoon and a half of nutmeg. Again, that's personal preferance. I found this dough very easy to work with, one of the easiest I have worked with. Rose beautifully, was easy to roll out and roll back up and cut. Really just GREAT dough. Honestly. These even baked up really well. And I really liked that the melted butter was mixed with the brown sugar and spices. It really made making these rolls a snap for me. I don't know why I never thought of that before. The only problem I had was not using a deep enough pan. When the filling oozed out of the rolls, it bled all over my oven causing a small fire. Not fun. BUT, that is my fault, not reflective of the recipe. This was the best cinnamon roll recipe I've worked with made even better by personal changes of my own. I plan on frosting them with a homemade cream cheese cinnamon roll icing. Watch the baking time, though. These cook fast and can burn if you aren't watching carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States