Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Not bad for a quick recipe. Cooking time was waaay too long. 10 minutes max or they will be very brown and crunchy. We like chewy cinnamon buns. I did make icing for the top, really seemed too dry without. Will stick with 'clone of a cinnabon' recipe from this site. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FireMedicJen
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Holy cow. These were sensational! What an easy recipe to follow, completely dummy-proof. I would recommend that you take the time do to this the night before, then let 'em rise overnight. 90 minutes does not include the time I took to make coffee, yawn a lot and explain to my boyfriend what yeast does. Plus, I made a batch of homemade cream cheese frosting and covered those suckers in creamy goodness. Anyway, here are my (only) change: Next time, I'm going to double the brown sugar mixture, and crumble it on top before I bake. I found that most of the goo melted to the bottom, and I like my roll to have it through-n-through. Otherwise, they were absolutely delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireMedicJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These cinnamon rolls were good, but I definitely should have made some type of icing to sweeten them up a bit, because, really, who wants a cinnamon roll without the frosting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I was so happy to find an egg-free recipe (due to food allergies), & this one worked well. I used sour oat milk (1 1/2 T. vinegar plus enough oat milk to equal 1 1/2 c.; mix & let sit 5 minutes) in place of buttermilk. I ended up using my bread machine. Next time I won't "proof" the yeast beforehand though; I'll just add it dry to the bread machine as the last ingredient, adding the liquids first. Most cinnamon rolls have sugar in the dough, so I added 1/4c. sugar with the rest of the dry ingredients. I also used BREAD FLOUR. The dough turned out nice & soft, not sticky, and was VERY easy to work with (huge rectangle!). For the spread, I substituted white sugar for the brown sugar & added more cinnamon. I rolled the dough, starting at the long end, & used thread to cut the pieces (put thread under the dough log, bring both ends up, crossing each other, & pull out & down); this works much better than a knife, which tends to squash & seal the dough. Next time I will bake them in a 9x13" pan (10x15" is too big). The rolls need to touch each other on the sides so they raise more in the oven. I made a simple glaze of 1 c. powd.sugar & 1 t. vanilla extract mixed with enough "milk" to make it smooth & thin enough to drizzle. These really turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made night before Christmas to bake in morning. Wow! Wonderful recipe with wonderful results. Texture was terrific: nice & chewy. Reheated beautifully day after Christmas. I made four changes. (1) BREAD flour instead of all purpose. Better texture because it has more protein, which is worked into tiny strands while you're kneading, and overnight. Yum. (2) Added 1/2 cup of white sugar to dry ingredients. (3) My new jar of "Active Dry" yeast had expired, grrr, arg, so I used "Rapid Rise" packets instead. Just followed the slightly different directions as given on packets, and dough came out perfectly. (4) No buttermilk, so I put 2 tablespoons white vinegar in milk. Three comments. (1) Several reviewers mentioned dough is very soft. True; you need to work it carefully, but that's the nature of the beast. Adding too much flour will mess up your texture. Instead, keep things cold and work surface and pin lightly dusted with flour. A little perforated-top flour shaker is great. Kneading & resting are important steps, so don't skip them. I measured bread flour by dipping cup into bag and leveling with knife -- and found recipe amount was spot on. (2) When applying filling, use stiff pastry or paint brush. Go all the way to the short edges of your rectangle of dough, but DON'T apply mixture to very edges of the long ends. Leave 'em bald so log seals better when you roll it up. (3) Clean knife between every few cuts on log.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Delish! I add raisins. Rises beautifully thanks so much for this recipe!! I add the cream cheese icing from one of the other cinn roll recipes on this site- super yummy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These rolls are so awesome! Keeping an eye on them in the oven is important, but is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Great recipe. As we have egg allergies in our family this was the perfect cinnamon roll recipe for us. I put all ingredients in my breadmaker and set it on dough, then rolled it out and followed instructions from there. I didn't have buttermilk so used milk with 2 T of lemon juice (let stand for 10min to curdle) and it came out fine. Fluffy, sweet, soft rolls .... perfect. Be careful not to overcook though. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Easy recipe that turns out consistently good every time. The only thing I did differently was let the dough rise to double after kneading and again after rolling and I used a little more brown sugar and much more cinnamon for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by s0ap
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I loved these! If you don't have buttermilk you can add about 2 tbs of vinegar to your milk. They need some sort of icing/frosting . (which I did add)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s0ap

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States