Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Not sure why some people had so much trouble. This is really an easy recipe and only requires that you keep adding flour until you get a nice texture to the dough. I followed the advice of one reviewer, adding extra cinnamon and some sugar to the dough. I also brushed melted butter on the dough after rolling it out, then sprinkled a mixture of 1/2 C sugar, 1 C dark brown sugar, 2 t. cinnamon and 1/2 C raisins on top then rolled the dough. For a topping, I melted butter in the pan, sprinkled it with brown sugar, and placed the cut rolls on top (the rolled dough is easy to cut with an 18" piece of dental floss - just slide it underneath, bring both ends up together and cross them to cut through neatly). Now if I can figure out a way to use this without the oil, I'll have a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is a fantastic and EASY recipe! I was distracted by my two little helpers and forgot the oil, but they still turned out! Also, I always try and substitute at least 1/2 the flour with whole wheat flour, this works great in this recipe. Can't wait to try these again with the oil and see how yummy they are! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
These rolls came out perfect for me. I think next time I will add a bit of cinnamon and sugar to the dough as others suggested. I made a cream cheese frosting for the top. Next time I may add a little orange zest and extract for an orange glazed version. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These are absolutely unbelievably good. My family went nuts for these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindeeandgordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Ok. Not exceptional. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Regretfully, I have to give 3 stars. Actually I had a big expectation on this recipe. And with all good review, I expected a light, moist rolls. But I have to agree with Gosselin that there was a biscuit taste in it. Maybe I have to omit the baking soda. I tried so hard to keep the fluor in 4,5c with so much liquid in it (I reduced the liquid a bit). A bit sticky, but I finally can manage not to add more fluor. That's why I expected a light roll. But what I got was quite far. Sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
These were so dry and not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Easy, fast, and delicious! This was the first time I've made cinnamon rolls, and they turned out wonderfully! I followed The Bunny Chef's suggestions of adding 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon to the dough. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I agree with some other reviewers, the roll itself is bland, it's the filling that does the trick. I have tried other recipes of good cinnamon rolls, but I liked this one for the strong use of buttermilk in it, which is a novelty for me. So I'll keep this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and was not impressed with the results. They looked great, were super simple to make, but the rolls had no real flavor, maybe because there was no sugar in it. The only real flavor came from the filling. It was like eating a regular dinner roll with some cinnamon butter smeared on it. I will keep looking for a really good, light, sweet cinnamon roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRACHEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States