Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
These are fabulous and I added a little more sugar goodness in between the layers and added walnuts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Good -curious as to why there's oil in the batter (doesn't unsalted butter make more sense in a sweet yeast pastry?) and why baking soda in a yeast recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy Goldman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Wow! I'm a huge cinnamon roll fan and these are probably the best I've ever had. I made them the night before then took them out hr before baking to let them rise. Baked for 20 mins & frosted with Cinnamon Bun Icing from ASILMARIE here on allrecipes. Perf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I've never made cinnamon rolls, and tried this recipe to get rid of some buttermilk. I halved the recipe and all of the buns fit inside a standard round cake pan. The only trouble I had was that I melted the butter in the microwave instead of cutting it into the cinnamon and sugar, and this made it a real pain to spread on the dough. Also, I covered them with the cream cheese frosting from the mock Cinnabun recipe. A family member of my husbands said it tasted just like those buns you get out of the vending machine. I'm taking it as a compliment... Those cinnamon buns are dirty little secrets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe but I warmed the buttermilk in the microwave for a 1-2 mins until it was warm (:The dough was sticky but if u just work in some flour and have plenty of flour on the counter and your rolling pin, u'll be fine (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Paulson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Awesome Recipe! This was my first time ever making cinnamon rolls! I only added 4 cups of flour and the dough was not sticky at all.. My son and I loved the rolls! They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is my first attempt at making cinnamon rolls. The recipe was easy to follow and they came out great! I added a little sugar in the dough and more flour than the recipe called for. Overall I was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I just made them. They came out perfect. I followed recipe exact for I used diluted canned milk with a little vinegar in it for the butter milk. They're delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Since I love cinnamon rolls and my husband is not the biggest fan of them (especially the cinnabons where he only sees the calories and not the taste) I had to find a good recipe that will convince him to enjoy these goodies every now and then. I read quiet a few reviews on here and also the "least positive" ones and really cannot understand how this recipe could have failed. The yeast dough measurements worked out very good, part of the last half cup I kneaded in when I worked the dough on the surface. I dissolved the yeast in the warm water and let it sit for about 10 minutes until nice and foamy and then added just a little bit of sugar. I take one star down because of the brown sugar mixture. It indeed was too liquidy and once I rolled up my buns I ended up with it leaking everywhere and when I cut it, it even made a bigger mess. It should be thicker, I think. What I did, since I had not poured all of it on there I used the left overs from the bowl and just spread it over the rolls in the pan. They baked out light and fluffy and the taste was really nice. I hope they freeze well, I did them last night and we ended up with 26 medium size rolls, so I baked the big dish last night and let them cool over night in the dish the smaller dish, I covered and put in the fridge over night and baked them this morning. Both worked out great. This will be my cinnamon roll recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe based on positive reviews, but found them to be a flavorless mess. 4.5C was no where near enough flour. Added extra, 1/2C at a time and actually lost count at 6.5C. The dough never came together properly, but I continued with preparation anyway. The dough did rise nicely, but it was far too loose and practically impossible to work with. Melting the butter made it very easy to get it and the cinnamon/sugar on the dough, but the dough was too mushy to roll. Thankfully I rolled it out on a piece of floured plastic wrap and was able to use that to help me form the roll. The log would have been impossible to cut, so I covered and tossed it in the frig overnight hoping that would help firm it up enough to cut. Again, it rose nicely and I was finally able to cut the log into rolls. I baked them for 20 minutes - they browned nicely but over half of the filling bled out leaving a tasteless mess of a cinnamon roll. There was literally no flavor! I made a quick glaze with powdered sugar, a few drops of milk, and a dash of vanilla. My son was finally able to eat one once we glazed them, but they were just not good enough to justify the time involved. Followed instructions to the letter, with the exception of the flour, but this was just off. Won't be making these again. You'll be better off with the kind you pop from a can. If you do decide to try them, I highly recommend using softened butter NOT melted, in order to keep more of the filling inside the roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States