Buttermilk Cinnamon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made individual loaves for my coworkers for Christmas, which took 4 batches. I was tired of all the batches and missed the instructions to divide the cinnamon sugar mixture between the middle and the topping. No matter, hubs said the bread was really good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Mmmm...Really good bread! I didn't have buttermilk (used 1 TBS. of lemon juice with milk and let it sit for five minutes) and omitted the nuts since I didn't have any of those either. It still turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This bread is really good. Extremely moist, flavorful and very easy to make. I mostly made this bread for us to eat at breakfast throughout the work week, but we have ended up snacking on it at various times of the day. Since this made two loaves, I froze one and kept the other one out, and I am really looking forward to getting that second loaf out tomorrow. This bread also looks kind of impressive, and when I took a couple of pieces to work with me my coworkers asked me where I bought it because they said it looked professional. I will make this one again to keep around for something sweet but filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
mmmm tasty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaileen Moeller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I love any recipe that calls for buttermilk! Buttermilk makes breads incredibly tender and moist. I followed the recipe exactly. The batter has a thick consistency and I filled two 8x4 greased pans. I used a butter knife to swirl the cinnamon and sugar mixture pushing the walnuts into the batter right before baking to help everything stay in place on the top. While baking I noticed that the bread rose up but also spilled over onto the baking sheet. Towards the end the top of the bread formed a beautiful golden crispy crust. I especially enjoyed the wonderful aroma of cinnamon in my kitchen-just heavenly! The bread looks so pretty with the cinnamon sugar topping and tastes even better! When sliced the cinnamon swirl gives a nice pattern. It was moist, flavorful and a cake-like (fluffy) cinnamon bread. The cinnamon topping is just the right sweetness and cinnamon-y. This bread turned out delicious! These would be great as mini loaves tied in colorful cellophane bags given as Christmas gifts. However, I would definitely use a 9x5 pan, not an 8x4, because it was a MESS to clean up! With that said I gave this recipe a 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Hubs is taking these to a mid-morning meeting tomorrow so for easier serving I baked this as muffins - 350 degrees, 20 minutes. A half recipe gave me 12 perfectly sized muffins, with attractive, rounded tops. These will be perfect - they're just the right sweetness and lightly cinnamony. The cinnamon-sugar topping gives them a little pizzazz, both in flavor and presentation, and it stays with the muffin, so the folks in the meeting won't have crumbs or topping falling off all over the place! Oh, and for just that reason I left out the nuts. The buttermilk, as usual, made these incredibly tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Delicious, simple recipe that can be made in 5 - 10 minutes, then baked. Enjoy the lovely smell coming from the kitchen too! I took this to serve to a group and didn't come back with a crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
followed the recipe.. even added some cinnamon sugar and vanilla to the mix. bread has no taste! something is definitely missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I'm blown away by how delicious (and easy) this recipe is. I had no butter or margarine in the house so found this recipe. All I had was olive oil, so I used that. I used 2 cups of white flour and 2 cups of whole wheat. I cut the sugar back a little. You cannot beat this yummy loaf! (I'd give more stars if I could) I may tinker a little bit to make is even healthier... perhaps more whole wheat, perhaps some ground flax seed... I love it I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Made this recipe as a gift for the holidays. While I never got to try the recipe myself, everyone I gave it to asked for the recipe. It sounds like it was delish. It was very easy to make, although I was a bit surprised that it didn't rise as high as quick bread usually do. Might have been some outdated baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States