Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This cake should have 10 stars!!! I made it for my husband's birthday last night. I used a bundt pan (dusting with cocoa powder in lieu of flour) which required about an 20 minutes extra baking time. I then let the cake cool for a few minutes in the pan, and then took it out of the pan to finish cooling while I made the frosting. After the frosting was done, I put the cake back into the bundt pan and then poked holes in the bottom of the cake with a wooden spoon and a fork. I then poured about half the frosting into the holes. I would have let it sit like that for awhile but my husband was coming home so almost immediately I put the cake on the serving plate and then using a basting brush, painted the rest of the frosting onto the top of the cake. Gobs of frosting still pooled into the "hole" of the bundt cake. When my husband took the first bite, he exclaimed - "Oh My God! It's filled with chocolate!" I ***strongly*** recommend using the highest quality of cocoa powder available as it is the only chocolate in the cake. I used Ghiradelli. Also, the batter was quite runny when I poured it into the pan but it cooked up just fine. I also "made" my own buttermilk by adding 1 T. apple cider vinegar to 1 c. milk and letting it set for a few minutes. I also used 1/4 c. cocoa powder in the cake as opposed to just 3 T.. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I've never made the cake, but I have made the fudge icing and used it on other cakes. It is delicious and truly tastes like fudge. I would caution, however, that you do not beat it for the full 3 minutes if you intend to pour it over your cake (I like it poured over bundt cake). It will not flow down the sides but rather sit on the top in more of a clump. Stop beating when it looks a little thinner than what you want because it will set very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
After reading the reviews I decided to make a few small changes and made this a 5 star recipe (well at least to me). I added 1/4 cup of cocoa powder instead of the 3T and an extra tsp of vanilla. Also I didn't have buttermilk so I added a tsp of vinegar to a cup of regular milk. The icing was very yummy even though I burnt it while boiling. I saved it by just pouring off the good stuff and not scaping the bottom of the pot. Also I only beat it for 2 min and didn't have any problems with it being too thick. SUPER DUPER and very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This cake is divine! So moist and tasty. Do not skip the frosting step, it compliments the cake perfectly - it is just not the same cake without it. I have made this cake several times and it has been consistently successful. Just a couple of suggestions: I use a little over 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, instead of 3 tbls. Do not burn your frosting. Properly butter and flour your pan beforehand (I use a 9X13 pan). Do NOT overbake. Take out while still slightly moist on the toothpick (not clean like the recipe says). I shut off oven and let the cake sit in for 5 min max after the slighly moist point. and ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
The cake wasn't horrible but it wasn't the best that I've had. It was moist as other users have said but you would definitely want to add more cocoa..I used 1/4 cup..I would also recommend sifting the flour before use or use cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi Lareux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuskegee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HAV2SING
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Flavor is excellent. I only gave it 4 stars however, because I want more frosting. I took a photo, which shows how the frosting doesn't cover the entire cake. Sure, it is rich, and sweet... but I *like* chocolate cake that way! The more the better!! I did follow someone else's suggestion of using 1/4 Cup of Cocoa for the cake batter, and am glad I did. Now I'm off to make another batch of frosting - yum! -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! Every chocolate cake I've ever made has come out dry but this one was perfect! and so easy! I beat it by hand not with a mixer and used a chocolate buttercream frosting. Ummmm! good! But beware, you'll be coming back for 2nds and 3rds and it is sinfully rich and so delicious! Nana Betty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I haven't made the cake but I LOVE LOVE LOVE the icing. It's a great way to make a boxed cake mix taste homemade! My family (4boys + hubby) eat it all in one sitting. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARALEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agriff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Excellent. Very moist and nice flavour. I did find the fudge icing a bit too rich (but a friend found it perfect). Also, the batter is quite runny, if baking in springform, stick a pan underneath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States