Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This cake is icky. Weak chocolate taste and bilge water coloring. Anyone with decent tastebuds should try the "Dark Chocolate Cake 1" recipe submitted by Carol. Better taste, color, texture...etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaSicSara
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
this for the fudge icing only...haven't tried the cake. i made the icing with the "black magic cake." DELICIOUS icing!!! foolproof recipe!! and the consistency can be manipulated a little depending on how long you beat it for. TIP: spread the icing slightly warm..it'll be much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was the best chocolate cake I have ever made. The changes I made was that I added like a 1/2 of cup of cocoa and sifted the flour. The cake was very very moist and delicious. I used a cream cheese frosting instead of the chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Zac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I think this cake was so easy to make and looks fantasitc. I love the mild flavor of the cake and think the icing is over the moon good. Made it in a bunt cake and poored warm icing over cake before it was too thick. I am always looking for not to sweet cakes and this is it. I cant wait till the morning to enjoy this with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
If you like chocolate then this is the cake for you. I love chocolate and this might just be a little too much for me. The icing is delicious but very rich. I baked the cake in a bundt pan like one of the reviewers did and it turned out great. It does require more backing time. I just poured the icing over it more like a glaze than frosting. Very good but very rich almost like a chocolate cake you would have at a nice restraurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This cabe it the hit of the birthdays. My family always asks me to bring this:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This cake and frosting were so easy to make and so very delicious! I will recommend to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I'm munching on a piece right now and feeling mighty glad about it! It's like a good, old-fashioned, home-style chocolate cake that begs to be eaten with a glass of milk, and a cozy quilt (for your lap, that is!). I used my own favorite chocolate buttermilk frosting and they go nicely together. At some of the other reviewers' suggestions, I increased the cocoa to 1/4 cup and was glad I did. This isn't the darkest chocolate cake, so I can see why some of the reviewers were expecting more, especially since in the picture the cake looked very dark. It's not like the rich and dense chocolate cakes you might find in a restaurant. It's more light and fluffy, and very, very moist, which I love in a cake. A nice recipe using ingredients you will likely have on hand, and it's easy to whip up at the last minute for company or a mad-chocolate craving! Thanks for sharing, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
We love this cake!! It is so good. The frosting is very good, too. Simple and satisfying! I just made the cake again and it is still my favorite simple chocolate cake recipe. It seems pretty wholsome, too-not too sweet. I used evaporated cane sugar instead of white sugar in both the cake and the frosting and it tastes just the same. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesalee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Good recipe, flavorful - but maybe that's because I added 1/2 c semi-sweet chips to the boiling water until mostly melted. I boosted the cocoa powder, too, according to the previous reviews. I doubled the recipe thinking it would be the right amount for 1/2 sheet pan. Probably could have just done 1.5 recipe. Doubling made a lot! I always taste the batter and learned that if the batter tastes good, so will the cake. My version tasted great. For frosting I made it as is but when beating with a mixer I added 1 cup powdered sugar. Nice texture and easily spreadable if you don't wait too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri

Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States