Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Flavor was amazing, though I anticipated a bit different texture. The family loved this. I just liked it. I did, however, LOVE the glaze. I used a whisk throughout cooking instead of the beaters and it was fine. Really nice in a bundt pan, just be sure to add 10 minutes or so to cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Disclaimer: cake just made, I haven't yet tasted it. I'm giving it 3 stars because it took sooo long for the center of the cake to set that the edges got a bit crispy. Also, despite reducing both the boiling and the beating time for the icing, it still got firm immediately and I could not even spread it to the edges of my 9 x 13 cake. It might taste good, but it's not pretty. Update: Cake was pretty tasteless, even after increasing the cocoa as other readers suggested. Icing was more like a chocolate crust. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I made the Icing only, not the cake. The icing was so easy to make! And it tasted absolutely DELICIOUS. I will definitely use this icing recipe again. Do not beat it for 3 minutes and don't let it cool for too long! (2 minutes or 1.5 is good enough) - it will be way too thick to spread and it will not pour out of the saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
i made the cake only, not the icing. it was delicious! super moist and yummy, i used 1/2c cocoa powder @ someone elses suggestion and it was great. i made the fluffy peanut butter frosting from this website and everyone at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Just made the ganache type icing. It was quite good. Really, really watch the timing when beating the icing mixture after the 1 minute boil. Time too short- a runny mess. Time too long - a thick blob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOK4THEBOYS
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Just ate my first piece and it was HEAVENLY!! I couldnt find my electric mixer so I had a difficult time with little flour balls in the batter ( if anyone can offer some tips to avoid that, I would really be greatful). The cake was exceptionaly moist and the frosting was the perfect touch. Had a similar flavor to molten lava cakes. Will definately put this one in my frequent/favorite cake rotations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlene2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Love love love the chocolate cake. It is moist and chocolatey and delicious! I didn't really like the icing all that much, but this cake is perfect without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I've only used the recipe for this icing, not made the cake so that's what my rating is for. Only thing I did have to do differently was use the electric mixer on it for 10 min. to get it to thicken up like I wanted. Poured it on the recipe from this site for one bowl brownies and let it sit a couple of hours. Fantastic!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Easy to make but ice the cake right away because it sets and hardens quickly. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLC2230

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Can't speak for the cake, since I only made the icing, but it was really good! A great topping for a dark, rich chocolate cake when regular icing is just too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States