Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I only made the frosting, but it was GREAT! I didn't realize the frosting would still be runny sort of even after 3 mins of beating. I beat the frosting for WAY too long. But, I didn't care, it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Tipps

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this cake!! I will be using it as my go-to chocolate cake from now on, it also works well as cupcakes :) Bake about 18-20 mins a batch I added a 1/4 cup, plus a tablespoon, of dutch cocoa power (because I love a rich chocolate flavor). I also used 3 tablespoons vanilla as suggested. I did not make the fudge icing, I made a simple buttercream frosting and it tasted wonderful. The longer the cake sat, the better it became...just ate the last slice on day 5 after baking...such a moist and fluffy crumb...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by re_see44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe showed. Normally I make a few changes but wanted to really try the way it was written. It was like eating air; no flavor in the cake at all. I have made the icing many times before and is the best frosting I have ever had, but the cake.....no way. I won't ever make it again with the given recipe. This is the first time I have ever given a 1 star on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I dont know what I did wrong. I think it was the type of cocoa I used. When I finished the cake, I cut myself a slice, it looked delicuos! It looked like a brownie or something like that, but when I bit into it it was tasteless. :( Next time Ill try a different kind of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I was looking for a recipe that used Buttermilk as I had purchased it for another recipe. This is great recipe and it sounded familiar to me. I compared this with my Mom's recipe and she has been making this for years. The only change I made was low fat Buttermilk and 4 tablespoons for cocoa. I did make the fristing that was in included in this recipe and it was good, however I prefer my Mom's buttercream! Yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imtassiethatsme
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This fabulous! I added a 1/2c flour and have never had it fall. Absolutely moist, flavorful and decadent. I frosted it with chocolate fudge and peanut butter frosting. WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtassiethatsme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
this cake was terrific!! i ran out of sugar and used brown sugar instead and it was moist and perfect! i also did about a tsp of maple syrup too. i didn't make the icing though. This also make 2 round cakes. i will be baking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I didn't make the cake, only the frosting. I made a box mix sheet cake, left it in the pan and poured this over it. FABULOUS! As suggested by other reviewers, I doubled the recipe and I let it cook on low for a few minutes to melt the sugar. The consistency is PERFECT, not gritty at all. Definitely will be using this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCGRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I did not make the cake but have used the icing over a store bought cake mix. It was delicious!! And very easy-- There's no way to tell you didn't do it all from scratch. Thank you for such a delicious icing recipe. I will use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollylee69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
The pastry part was amazing BUT the icing turned out too thick, I had to add extra milk to it. :/ Overall though it turned out to be a good cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puff of the Cupcakes
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States