Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lena
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I baked in a bundt pan and did use 1/4 cup of cocoa powder. The cake was moist and yummy! Not too sweet or 'rich', which was what I was looking for. The batter is 'runny'. I thought maybe I didn't put enough flour (my son had distracted me for a minute and I lost count of how much flour I had already scooped in). However, a quick read of the reviews and I read the batter is runny. I made it for someone's birthday at work. Everyone loved it. Only thing I didn't do was beat the frosting with a mixer. And I cooked it on medium instead of letting it boil. For these reasons, my frosting was somewhat grainy (from sugar crystals). Not a super big deal but next time I'll make sure it breaks down. Also, I used buttermilk in the frosting since I didn't have regular milk. YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My wife and I love this recipe so much, my wife begs me to bake one _every_ time she's in the mood for a chocolate cake. She even prefers it over her traditional, family recipe Sour Cream Chocolate Cake! (And that's saying a LOT!) In fact, the only time she bakes her family recipe cake is when she invites her mother over for cake. No changes to the recipe necessary. I use a heavy cast aluminum Bundt pan, and cocoa vs flour when greasing the pan for fantastic results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Hoenig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Really good and moist, but I doubled the frosting recipe after reading other comments. I definitely recommend doubling the frosting, it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this with the additional cocoa and instead of a cup of boiling water, I used a cup of coffee. The batter was runny as others have said. I cooked it for 5 extra minutes as it wasn't quite done. Delicious!! The frosting turned out fine. I doubled the recipe. I did not have time to cool it so I poked holes in the cake and poured the frosting on top. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cory
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I took the advice of another reviewer and made it in a bundt pan. I also injected some of the frosting into the cake. It was fantastic!! My family loved it. It was gone in about 18 hours. I shared with some coworkers who all demanded the recipe. One suggested that next time I inject it with some homemade marshmallow or Ho Ho type of filling. I will try that for sure. But I kept all of the ingredients the same and it was awesome. My dad said the only problem he had with it was that I didn't give him a big enough piece lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
easy, light and yum. I made this for my bday and it was a hit. I aslo made the icing yum, a really delish cake - I ate half of the cake on my own. With a culpa yum. Can not make this cake again as I have put on weight as it was in my fridge and I picked at it until it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms.BlacKButterfly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I'm not really a Chocolate fan but I tried this recipe and it was Awesome!!! Even the icing was great will definitely bake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The reviews on this cake are so overrated(in my opinion). This cake is brown, but a chocolate cake...I don't think so. I searched for a cake recipe using buttermilk because I had some left over from making pancakes. I should have saved the buttermilk for biscuits. None of the reviews mentioned that this batter is extremely loose(runny)so that was a shock to me. I am a heck of a cook and have catered many events and sold many home baked goodies, so I do not lack the skill. This is a terrible cake and the icing is not even an icing....it's more like a coco spread. The overly chocolate-tasting icing had to have been created to make up for the lack of flavor this dense (and more dense as it cools) cake. I can't see this recipe being made to taste better. I'll just stick with the cake recipes I know in the future. A tiny slice is all I needed and will never want more of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This absolutely the best recipe for chocolate cake I have ever baked. Most of my past attempts resulted in a dry, bland, cake. Not this one! This cake is beyond moist and has a light texture. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Great, simple recipe. Cake is moist. Fudge Icing cooks and tastes fudgy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States