Buttermilk Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I realized after I had already started putting it together that I was out of baking soda. I still finished mixing and I poured it in a 9" round cake pan, it turned out like a mild tender brownie cake. I ate it with vanilla ice cream while it was still warm yummy!!! My kids both like it too!! And they are picky!!! May God bless you all with many happy kitchen memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted the pecans for dark chocolate chips because I wanted it extra chocolatey. I think this bread would be a great base to add extra flavorings such as vanilla, almond or mint extracts. It is definitely more cake like than bread. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is so yummy! I baked a loaf for a church brunch, but it ended up being cancelled, so me and my mom got to enjoy it ourselves! I did not add pecans, but I sprinkled some on top of the loaf then drizzled them with chocolate sauce. I'm making another loaf for a Christmas dinner this weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coatesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Meeteetse, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love it!!! will definitely make again, will go where I know they sell REAL buttermilk, NOT the low fat type of buttermilk, It can only get better... Didn't make the butter part.. may be next time.. (which could be tomorrow!!! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was excellent - everyone loved it I did add 1/2 c. chocolate chips (semisweet and dark mixed) didn't add the pecans. The chocolate honey butter was yum.. It was very moist. I give out quick breads for the holidies to friends - this one made the cut. I also made the chocolate tea bread on this site - which will not make the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Divas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This bread is delicious and is almost the same recipe as Chocolate Buttermilk Bread on this site except this recipe used a 1/4 c. less flour and a diffrent spread. This bread is not sticky like some quick breads ... sorta brownie like in flavor but with an almost cake-like texture. I used chocolate chips pulsed through the food processor instead of nuts and did add a tsp. of chocolate extract. After it cooled completely I wrapped it well and put it in the fridge. It was better the next day. The butter is a must with this bread. I didn't think it was needed or that I would like it but I was so wrong, it compliments the bread perfect! The recipe is a keeper and makes a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was weird. It isn't like a banana bread and really sweet, but it wasn't like normal bread. I was in charge of bread for Easter and it sat on the buffet and didn't move. I also made Banana Bread and Jim's Cheddar Soda bread - which were GONE before the meal was over. I watched someone take Buttermilk Choc Bread and take a bite and throw it away. My kids said; "Ehhh!" It had a nice texture and came out "pretty"....but I would not make this again and am deleting it out of my recipe box. Sorry - it sounded wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
So yummy! Made this as muffins - still sitting warm on kitchen counter. Son couldn't wait to dig in. He took one bite and moaned in delight. I made just a few changes: subbed 1/2 cup wheat for white flour, subbed 1/4 cup Splenda and subbed half the butter with apple puree. Next time I'll add the chocolate chips like others have recommended. Came out very moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Definitely a cake-like bread. I almost wish I hadn't made it because I can't stop eating it. I almost didn't make the honey butter to go with it, but I am so glad that I did because it goes so well with the bread. Instead of nuts, I added mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Love this chocolate bread! I was happy to find this recipe as I couldn't locate the old cookbook this recipe was in. This has been a family favorite and very requested recipe for over 20 years! I think you are missing out if you don't at least try it with the honey butter. Also, loved the create ways some of the other reviewers added different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States